We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base if attending 02 Arena. Only reason would re visit for this purpose. Too modern and impersonal. Does not feel like” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Excellent base if attending 02 Arena. Only reason would re visit for this purpose. Too modern and impersonal. Does not feel like”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in Gibson hotel Nov 2012 to attend Michael mc intyre gig in O2 arena. Would return to Gibson hotel only for its sheer convenience to 02.as takes bout 2 mins to get there and no hanging around with long queues for luas or taxis after! Can't fault the hotel for standard of cleanliness and rooms were good size with very comfy bed and great rain shower ! Very impersonal feel to hotel! Escalators for few floors before get to reception which is three desks on corridor. Did not eat in hotel so can't comment on food and bar area like one long open corridor also. Would I go back to the Gibson hotel? Yes if was attending 02 as it is perfect base especially as u stroll back after your gig and see the endless queue for luas and taxis! Felt very smug! Would I reccomend hotel for romantic night away? Definitely no. That all said, could not fault our room, had great night sleep and very quiet during night with no traffic or noise on corridor. For those shoppers among us the luas pulls up outside front door of hotel so not far to walk with all those bags!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,427 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,569
    673
    128
    36
    21
See reviews for
272
1,075
82
330
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (430)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Milton Keynes
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

Stayed here for one night after reading some good reviews and I wasn't disappointed in the least, in fact I was pleasantly surprised.

Oddly, reception is on the 3rd floor but check in was quick and efficient. My room was large, spotless and bang up to date. Lighting in the room was bright and the TV big...also with a speaker in the bathroom. No bath but a massive walk in shower with a gigantic shower head fixed to the ceiling.

The doors of the rooms don't slam shut like some hotels which can disturb you at night and in fact this was one of the rare nights where I have stayed away from home and didnt actually need ear plugs!

My only small critisism...its a bit of a bug bear with me...is with the pillows on the bed, far too thin and firm. If only hotels would provide a nice feather/down pillow..or even the option having one brought to your room.....Mr Hotel Manager.....any thoughts?!

All in all, a refreshing change from those run of the mill hotels and highly recommended.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

I travel most weeks from Sligo on business and stay at the Gibson a very well run and top class hotel which caters for both business and pleasure right next to the 02 stadium for all events and close to the Dublin dart for travel into the city a must for all travellers , plenty of parking ,but at a cost , it's not bad at all , the food very good but little bit over priced, well worth every euro staying at the Gibson

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Ballastsigns,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night in the Gibson while attending a concert in the nearby O2 theatre. The hotel is easy to reach on the Luas tram as the stop is right outside the door. I was surprised to find the hotel is smaller than I had realised. It is situated on the top three floors of the building only. You reach the 3rd floor lobby by escalator or lift. The hotel is modern but very impersonal. As we were only staying one night we found it perfect for our needs with a clean well appointed room. The bar and restaurant are combined (there is a smaller seperate bar but this was unmanned anytime we looked in). If you are intending to stay at the Gibson be aware, although it is situated in The Point Village, there is no village just the theatre nearby. There was building work going on around the hotel when we were there. The city centre is only a 10 minute ride away on the Luas and this is very convenient.

Room Tip: There are rooms overlooking an interior space and as well as those looking out from the building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Beautiful hotel! Bad location. Our tour guide told us that it was built to supply guests for music arena, but there is nothing else around. the inner city tran is right outside the hotel to that made it convenient. Tram wass fairly cheap and very very easy to use. the beds were comfortable. The shower was glorious! (is it wrong to base the stay on the shower??)
My only grip was that the restuarant inside the hotel was very expensive. for example, we started drinking the water that was on the table. Guess we were just naive for thinking that it was free, but no - we were charged 5euros a bottle! They should have told us tourists! My steak was well done (ordered med. rare after the waiter and chef recommended med rare). For the price of the meal, it wasn't all that special.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear E F,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013 via mobile

This hotel is stark and modern, almost industrial in design, and while chic and stylish, would pot suit those looking for a cosy, boutique getaway.
It's location beside the Point and the Luas stop provides both entertainment on-site and excellent transport links to the city hub.
The bar menu is superb, and well-priced. The brunch, which is offered for an additional fee on a Sunday, and includes the very convenient late checkout, was somewhat disappointing after the faultless food of the previous evening.
The rooms are minimalist in design and benefit from the hotel's dockside location, offering a quiet, undisturbed night's sleep on a great bed.
Would recommend.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed here last weekend, loved the reception with all the escalators and glass.

The receptionist was very welcoming and friendly give us advice of where to go and how to get around the city.

The room was big and spacious with a balcony. The bathroom was great with a big powerful shower. The bed was comfy with extra pillows and duvet. It was really quiet at night, it was really relaxing and we had great sleep.

The location was a bit far out from the city centre, but the tram is pretty much straight outside the hotel and is very Convieniant.

Loved the is place and the city. Would definately come back again and would recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.