We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Trendy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Dublin,Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Very Trendy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Well stayed in The Gibson Hotel with my husband as we were attending an event in the Convention Centre near by. First impressions - you have to take escalators to the reception and I thought that was a complete waste of space - however once you reach the reception area and see the views of the city its well worth while. The rooms are lovely and spacious, very modern and really trendy! Very comfortable bed, we had a few drinks in the bar, and again very stylish and we would have had no problem staying there for the evening. I was really really pleasantly surprised by this hotel and would highly recommend it.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    675
    130
    36
    21
See reviews for
274
1,077
82
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a nice hotel. The checking in desk could not find our booking or the fact we had made a tax pre payment of the ten euros but we were able to check into our room at 9am and and arrange a late check out.

The Luas is directly outside the hotel entrance and goes to O'Connell Street, Jamesons distillery and the Guinness storehouse. Temple bar and Grafton street are four stops on the Luas and a 3 minute

Hotel rooms were fine, the showers great, value for money in a modern hotel.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterford, Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

This is one of the best hotels I have stayed in. Check in is very efficient, even though when we stayed there was a concert on in the O2.

Rooms are very impressive, simplistic in one sense, but at the same time they have everything you need. The bed was v comfortable and overall the room was spotlessly clean.

We went to concert in O2, so it was the ideal place to stay. It's very convenient to be able to get the Luas which stops directly outside the hotel and will have you in O' Connell street in less than 10 minutes.

Will definitely return.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing the O2 don't allow you to open the windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear michaeld_007

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

I don’t normally do reviews on Hotels I stay in, but because of the outstanding service I received, I felt the need to do so.
My colleague and I ran into a bit of bad luck with our car half a mile away from the Gibson Hotel, two flat tires, a flat battery, and a bonnet that wouldn’t close. It certainly wasn’t the best day we have had.
We walked to the Gibson Hotel, and they assisted us in any way they could, they let us use their phone free of charge, they supplied contact details of local breakdown recovery, garages, and 24 hrs emergency tire repair, which was a god send...
We adventurely had the car towed to the Gibson car park, and stayed the night in order to get the repairs done the next day.
As we had a bad day, the 1st port of call was the Hotel bar, where they gave us the 1st few drinks free. They also gave us breakfast free of charge the next morning. They was so friendly and helpful.
I would certainly recommend this Hotel, and if you are going to breakdown in your car, I recommend you do it as close to the Gibson as possible.
Additional-This Hotel is very clean, great rooms and facilities, and reasonably priced.
Thank you to all the staff that helped us.
Regards
Mark and Kevin (Manchester)

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear Mark H,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisburn, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This was our second stay here at the Gibson hotel. The staff are extremely friendly and helpful. A special mention for a young lady Ellen who looked after us in the bar, very professional and attentive. The bedrooms are beautifully decorated, very contemporary. Bright ,airy and spacious. Loved the cupcakes and personal message on arrival in our room. The 'Bee Kind' toiletries in the bathroom were very nice to use. Shower did a brilliant job of blowing away some post gig cobwebs!!! Their breakfast was amazing, lots on offer in self service buffet style, both continental and cooked on offer. The hotels location was perfect for our trip. A tram stop is located right out front which will take you to Dublin City Center for 2 euros. Our first stay was for the Dublin Marathon and our second was for a concert at the o2, which is directly opposite, You couldn't get any closer, perfect location for a gig stop over.


We would highly recommend this hotel for any type of trip as it has a lot of things to offer and only a short distance to the center.

Can't wait for our next visit!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear young216,

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
belfast
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

Stayed at the Gibson this weekend, the hotel was wonderful and a fantastic experience we enjoyed every aspect of the hotel, the staff were pleasent and helpful, the rooms were very inviting and spacious, the beds very comfortable and the cupcakes on arrivalwas a nice surprise. WE enjoeed the Louisiana cocktail (worth trying). Overall we very much enjoyed the ambience style and feel to the hotel.

A fantastic location for gigs and events in the O2.

Would definately recommend this hotel and will also return.

Room Tip: If visiting in the summer ask for a room with a balcony
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GCallinan, Manager at The Gibson Hotel, responded to this review, September 20, 2013
Dear R_wee_country

Many thanks for the lovely review posted recently and for taking the time to share your experience with us.

On behalf of everybody here, thank you for your very kind comments; it really makes it all worthwhile when somebody enjoys a visit as much as you did. Your words are very kind, are gratefully received and have given us all a big lift.

I hope it is not too long before you return to us again.

Kind Regards,

Gordon Callinan
Manager On Duty
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CAVAN
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2013

I just love this hotel, its bright, modern spacious feeling gives you that kind of city break feeling. A glass elavator to the 3rd floor, where you will find the reception and a very nice bar surrounded by glass doors which makes looking out on part of the Liffey and the court between the hotel and the o2 arena very pleasant. At the Hemidemisemiquaver bar, the menu is different.... a thai beef salad is nice or tiger prawn salad... I enjoyed the witty joke on the menu~ Last night I dreamt I was eating a 10 pound marshmallow. I woke this morning and my pillow was gone..lol.
Anyway, back to the hotel. The rooms are very comfortable, with fantastic bathrooms and lots of space. Ideal for trips to the o2 arena, and 10 min taxi into town, Luas is right outside the door of the hotel. Always very good value, family breaks such as the Zoo included is a good offer. Overall this hotel is Fantastic and really worth a visit.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.