We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you're going to a concert at the O2 there's no better place to stay.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Gibson Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Gibson Hotel to your Saves list
The Gibson Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Point Village, Dublin, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Food & Beverage Credit
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Cork, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“If you're going to a concert at the O2 there's no better place to stay.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

My wife got me tickets for Jeff Wayne's "War of the Worlds" at the O2 in Dublin. (Thanks Honey!!). The Gibson Hotel was the obvious choice because of it's proximity to the concert venue. I tried to book on the hotel website itself but all they had available was Suites..... I then tried Expedia and was delighted to find that it had rooms in the Gibson. After booking I rang the hotel directly as we are smokers and wanted a smoking room. What we got was even better.... A balcony room so we didn't have to smoke in the room itself. Our meal in the bar was better than expected even though it was only Thai food that was available. Overall the stay was great and extremely good value. Thanks Gibson......we'll be back.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,576
    675
    130
    36
    21
See reviews for
274
1,077
82
333
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (431)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tipperary, Ireland
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

This time we stayed to go to a concert at the O2. This hotel is completely geared up to look after its concert guests with special pre and post bar food - well I wouldn't class it as bar food as it is too good to be called that. The Thai food is very good and the portions are very ample.
The staff are very polite and you even get to see the stars (well we did)
Just one thing that let me down ....... the breakfasts are huge and I must have put on pounds as it was so good!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clare, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

I stayed at the Gibson Hotel with a friend last week for a concert at the O2 arena. It's a really nice hotel with very friendly staff. My room was clean, comfortable and quiet with a lovely bathroom. The hotel is extremely convenient for the O2 and there's a great heated balcony off the bar where one can have a drink and wait for the crowds to thin before heading to a concert. The only thing I wasn't happy with was the breakfast buffet. Although there was a big selection, all the food in the Full Irish section was cold, which was a pity because it would have been very good if it had been hot. I'd stay at the Gibson again because of the convenience for the O2 and the Tram stop just outside, which makes it very easy to get into town.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

I had a meeting in The Gibson Hotel last week and was blown away by its fantastic contemporary design, location and lunch menu. I't is open less than 2 years and had heard of it but had never been. It is right beside the O2 arena in the point village and I would have to say it is unique. As it is so close to Irelands largest indoor music venue it is named after the guitar, Gibson and other meeting rooms are also named after famous guitars, I really liked this.
The food was great and they were heavily supporting Movember with most barmen sporting great mustaches and good humor. I was delighted to find this Gem and will definitely go back as it is a great location for meeting people so close to the IFSC and Dublin City centre

Room Tip: I havent stayed there yet but intend to next time I'm staying in Dublin.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

This hotel is a farther from the city center with not much around except the O2. The design tries to be more modern and trendy. Make sure you ask how to turn the lights on when you are checking in, especially if you arrive after dark. Not knowing you had to put your key card in a slot by the door caused us to fumble around the entire room looking for the light switches. It's a good thing my phone had a flashlight. Didn't like that each person in the room had to get a separate slip for a wi-fi username and password. Glad I had the experience, but probably would not choose this hotel a second time.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wynyard, Durham
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012 via mobile

Just stayed in the Gibson hotel for 3 nights.
Very impressed with the facilities.
Staff very friendly and approachable. Checked in @ 9am as we had an early flight, had rooms available for us to be able to get a couple of hours shut eye.

Rooms.
Very spacious with a super king size bed, very comfy (with extra pillows in the wrobe should you require them). Tv. Kettle. Iron tea and coffee, fridge( not stocked but working). Hair dryer. Complementary bottled water.
En suite with a very large shower. Very powerful.

Very clean. And we'll presented I'm modern decor.

Restaurant & bar

Good amount of tables including sofas for extra comfort had a couple of snacks in here. Selection of wines including some international beers. Not to badly priced..

Breakfast

Full English buffet style, bit also selection if cold meats, fish, fruit pastries (some to take away).
Tea coffee and toast via the waiter service.

Location

Right opposite the O2 about 10m actually.

Out of the hub of the city centre but the tram service terminates at the hotel and they run every 11 minutes. Never struggled with this. A return ticket to abbey street is €3 euros or an all day flexi ticket is €6.30.
Really easy to use and very accessable.


All in all a very nice hotel with great facilities and no problems with it been a little out of the city centre..

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Gibson Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gibson Hotel

Address: Point Village, Dublin, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Gibson Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 252
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Chic and understated with a music pedigree that runs deep, the gibson hotel Dublin is the ultimate urban retreat. Music lovers, art junkies, food fanatics - whatever your passion it's right on our doorstep. We do sleeping, meeting, dining, gigging, touring, wedding and relaxing really really well. We mix all these things with a fresh, energetic, slightly off centre approach and we know it works. Exhibitions, supporting local artists, urban weddings and the odd celebrity are elements of what makes us different to the normal Dublin Hotel. You will find our staff friendly, responsive and happy - there is a secret to this that we can't possibly share. The gibson hotel is the ideal location to explore the city and planning your stay is easy. The M1 and M50 are 8 minutes away via the Port Tunnel and we have ample covered parking for our guests. With the luas stop right outside our front door Connolly train station is only 8 minutes away and Heuston train station is a short 20 minutes from the hotel. The Luas will take you to the City centre in 10 minutes or if you prefer to take in the views of the River Liffey a brisk 15 minute walk along the quays will bring you to O'Connell street, the heart of Dublin city. Great beds, 100MB complimentary WiFi, a gym, relaxation area, restaurant, bar and meeting space are all part of the deal. The gibson hotel is modern yet comfortable, it's different and it's better, it's large, it's friendly and it's a building that is alive with great people from the moment you set foot until the moment you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Gibson Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Gibson Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.