We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great lunch menu” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Exchequer

The Exchequer
3-5 Exchequer Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 670 6787
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #524 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $6 - $31
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great lunch menu”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013

I was only here for lunch and was really impressed. You can have soup,sandwich and tea/coffee for €8.50. I opted only to have a sandwich which was €5.50 which was crispy pork belly and it was fab. Will def be back.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

244 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    84
    24
    11
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great food, great cocktails and lovely staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Amazing food - I could literally just eat the starters everytime round and round.
Great cocktails - they clearly know what they are doing
Very nice vibe and ambience in the place

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

Was there on Saturday night with a group of 8 people. The restaurant was absolutely full, but the food was still great, and service perfect. We had a fantastic meal and will definitely return!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Dissappointing”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We went here for brunch on Sunday. Food average and service poor. We both ordered drinks followed by main course. I ordered the black pudding and poached egg. After some time the dishes arrived. The bakes eggs that my dining partner ordered was lovely. However my dish was poached eggs on toast. I called the waitress over and asked where was the black pudding and she went away to ask. When she came back she said they will out some on a side plate for me. I said that I was given the wrong dish and please replace it with the correct dish. The only thing the dishes had in common was the poached egg. When I did received it the egg was overcooked and the dish was a little dry as not enough sauce. The black pudding was lovely. We got coffees then. The bill had everything included until another (more experienced waitress) came over and took the bill back to take coffees off. She was very nice and couldn't apologise enough. It was a pity as the place has good potential.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Not quite right”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2013

We first ate here a late last year on a Sunday afternoon and sadly we didn't enjoy it. The food wasn't great and we found the service unfriendly. The whole atmosphere felt a bit souless.

We had friends from overseas stay with us at the end of March and again we were in town on Sunday afternoon and in search of food. It was during the freezing cold spell and we just wanted to get in out of the cold into a nice place, get comfortable, eat some food and have a few drinks. We suggested The Exchequer as we were beside it and just wanted to get in out of the cold. We didn't even mention our previous visit to them. We went in and sat down and read the menus... there were a few tables there but again it just had that cold, empty feeling. Our friends asked us could we leave and try somewhere else!

I guess this just isn't the place for us. We really wanted to like it as there's a shortage of great gastro pubs in Dublin, but for us, it's still down to just one or two.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exchequer also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Exchequer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Exchequer, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.