We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“clean and basic” 3 of 5 stars
Review of O'Shea's Merchant Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added O'Shea's Merchant Hotel to your Saves list
O'Shea's Merchant Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   12 Bridge Street Lower, Dublin 8, Dublin 8, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #78 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Kilkenny, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“clean and basic”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2014

Lovely staff, basic accommodation and ticked all the boxes. Would return as easy to luas and opposite the four courts. One thing I would recommend though is for the kitchen to have gluten free bread even in the freezer. Had to eat my breakfast with no toast. Nothing to dip my eggs with.

Room Tip: Our room was basic and very clean. Small with double and single bed found hard to move about. The de...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

58 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    17
    22
    8
    1
See reviews for
7
17
7
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ostersund, Sweden
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2014

Stayed there just one night with a group of 17 students. They overcharged us, there was water leaking from the ceiling in 2 rooms, it said "full Irish breakfast" but you had to choose just one dish from a menu. Unfriendly staff, difficult to sleep as they played music very loud until 0200.

I forgot my toiltry bag (with my engagement ring, golden...) and mailed them the day after, but they didn´t send it even if promised to pay in advance.
Anyway, it was cheaper then most of the other alternatives, but you get what pay for!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2014

I had a very nice and pleasant stay at this hotel. It was very reasonably priced and the rooms were comfortable and clean. The bathrooms were immaculate as well as the linens. The staff is very nice and helpful.

Room Tip: There are no elevators, so if you have a large piece of luggage, you may want a room on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

enjoyed a lovely weekend here - rooms were comfortable and well kept up - staff were very welcoming, great service - had a lovely roast beef dinner then returned after a days sightseeing to hear great irish music and craic in the bar - ideally located in the heart of Dublin, genuine irish experience - would reccomend

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is in a great location only a short walk away from Temple bar and surrounding shops. The room was clean and had everything we needed. We were greeted by an extremely friendly receptionist and given information on all the local attractions to take up our time during our stay. Will definitely be back again on next visit to temple bar!!!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Porthmadog, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013 via mobile

Great stop, just that little bit too far to walk back and forth to attractions
Clean
Ok rooms
Air handling unit outside room very noisy kept me awake
Oldest pub in Ireland opposite
Would revisit but always try closer hotels first

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to O'Shea's Merchant Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Shea's Merchant Hotel

Address: 12 Bridge Street Lower, Dublin 8, Dublin 8, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #78 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — O'Shea's Merchant Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your O'Shea's Merchant Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage O'Shea's Merchant Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.