We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, not so great accommodations” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Dublin Cottages

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dublin
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dublin Cottages
Save
You added Dublin Cottages to your Saves list
Tibradden Lane | Rathfarnham, Dublin 16, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #66 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
pacific northwest
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, not so great accommodations”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2011

I will begin by saying the location of these cottages is ideal if you want to feel like you are in the country but just a stone's throw from Dublin. It was the perfect balance for a family, some of whom wanted to play and hike outside and others who wanted to tour the city. The cottage itself left a bit to be desired I am sorry to say. My biggest issue was that the cottage smelled heavily of cigarette smoke, so naturally the bedding and towels did as well. Also, just FYI, there is no internet here. Normally not a problem as who wants to play on the internet during vacation, but I had researched and bookmarked a great deal of sights. We were able to drive about 10-15 minutes to a nice shopping area and find extremely slow internet at Starbucks to verify reservations for dinner. The showers in the cottage were a challenge, and the bedding needs an update. There are no electrical outlets in the bathrooms. None of these issues would be a problem whatsoever if the cottage didn't boast that it was "luxury" and "four star" accommodations. We were really looking forward to the fresh scones mentioned in a previous review, but alas, no scones. With a few improvements and personal touches I think the cottages could be a warm and lovely place to spend time in Ireland. Until then, we will be staying elsewhere.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

16 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    6
    4
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
12
Couples
0
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2011

Dublin Farm Cottages also known as Heather Cottage, Stepaside and Tibradden Farm Cottages.
Very remote location down narrow farm lanes. Overall cottage was shabby and not chic. Location was lovely but cottage accommodation very disappointing. It is very tired looking, felt neglected and needs modernising. It was not clean - had to remove old food from the dishwasher and toaster. The cooker is the worse I have ever seen and needs throwing out. I ended up having to buy cleaning products. All the kitchen equipment was very basic, cheap and needed cleaning. The dishwasher shelf and dispenser were broken.
There was a very old television which did not work properly and had limited channels and a bad reception. There was a basic £9.99 dvd player connected by a scart lead hanging down from the telly. There were no remotes or batteries. I did find five remotes with no backs or batteries but none of them matched!
The wood burner was dirty and full of ashes - no wood or firelighters were supplied. Showers and bathroom very basic and grubby. Was informed a carpenter was coming to fix the bath panel (ha ha) surprise he didnt!
There were old cheap smoke alarms (couldnt check if they had batteries!) no fire doors or designated fire exits.
The owner Chris excelled at having his mobile switched off and not responding to messages - although he did drop off another remote and batteries! still didnt work
I find it very difficult to believe this has a current rating of four stars.....prehaps ten years ago.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2011

We stayed at Tibbraden Farm Cottages for 1 week mid March. We rented Heather Cottage and in our party were 6 adults, 1 child and 1 baby.
The cottage is great and very well equipt, fabulous location, amazing views across Dublin and perfect retreat after a busy day in the city.
We celebrated a family birthday during our stay and the holiday also meant we were lucky enough to spend Paddy's Day in Dublin which was a great experience.
About 2 miles from the cottage is the "Merry Ploughboy" pub which serves fabulous food and the music is great they are also very family friendly.
Johnnie Foxs at Glencullen is also well worth a visit again the food is fantastic and on Sunday afternoons they have live music which is great.
We found the best way to get in to Dublin from the cottage was to drive to Dundrum (10 minute drive) park your car which costs €4 for the day and then get the LUAS (Tram) in to St Stephens Green in the city centre. It saves negotiating your way round the city roads and avoids trying to find somewhere to park.

The cottage has everything you need as a family with children 2 high chairs, stair gates, cot, DVD player and a few games. The kitchen all the usual essentials but also has a dishwasher, tumble dryer and washing machine plus microwave

We arrived to a great welcome pack of wonderful home made scones and a warm welcome from Chris with full instructions on how to work everything and where everything was.

If I had to think of a negative the only things I could think of would be no plug in the kitchen sink and no washing up bowl so if you did wash any dishes it was a bit tricky. There were only 4 large dinner plates which caused a few comical dinners as we had to take turns each night as to who would use two small side plates or a child's plate instead. Plus the main bathroom upstairs was described as having a shower over the bath however this is no longer there.

Overall it was a lovely cottage in a fantastic setting and I have already recommended it to several people and would certainly book again.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire, uk
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2010

Stunning view from the side of the mountains over Dublin and out to the sea. Was really quiet and peaceful with the Dublin Mountain Way literally branching off from the drive and going up above the cottages. Very helpful and friendly, 6 of us had a great time here. 20 mins down the road from Johnny Foxes Pub and close to the Dundrum Shopping centre and tram into central Dublin. If you arrive at Dublin Port take the Motorway round the city instead of following the directions through it. It's a hassle paying the toll but cut our journey time by over half and avoided the snails pace crawl we did through the city on arriving. Great base, would definitely go again!!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2010

Stayed at Tibradden Farm Cottages a few weeks ago. We found Chris and Valerie to be very welcoming and loved Heather Cottage from the very first moment we walked in! The living room is very spacious and homely and the kitchen is very nice too-catered for our big family (6 kids!) easily as everything you would need is provided.
The bedrooms are nice- spacious and bright with lots of space.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2010

The cottage was beautiful, well equipped. Chris and Valerie were really helpful. Close to shops and Dublin city centre. Beautiful views from the cottage. Absolutley fantastic stay, would recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2010

Our group of 10 were very comfortable in Fern Cottage. We found Chris and Valerie to be very welcoming and helpful about the area. The Cottage was lovely, and we had a great time staying at Dublin Cottages. The views from the Cottage were outstanding also.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Dublin Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dublin Cottages

Address: Tibradden Lane | Rathfarnham, Dublin 16, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Number of rooms: 4

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dublin Cottages, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.