We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sorry to have stumbles on this place” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Aleena Indian Restaurant

Aleena Indian Restaurant
3 Temple lane | Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 679 9833
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1,716 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
91 reviews 91 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
121 helpful votes 121 helpful votes
“Sorry to have stumbles on this place”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Do not waste your time or money in this restaurant, even if you've had too much to drink & have the munchies!

For somebody who enjoys a good curry & I am a loss to find the words to express how bad this place is.

The food is of poor quality, tasteless, greasy, watery, luke warm............& if that was chicken then I'm the Queen of England.

DO NOT EAT IN THIS RESTAURANT

  • Visited April 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    2
    1
    2
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tweed Heads, Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Tasteless food”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I travel all over the world and we were excited about trying a Indian curry in Dublin.
We were walking around Temple bar when we spotted this restaurant, how sorry were we to find it.
This restaurant would be a good candidate as one of the worst top ten Indian restaurants in the world.
All I can say is ..why o why did I not read trip advisor first,if you like a good curry,This restaurant is guaranteed to disappoint.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
shropshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Chicken?”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

I wish we had checked the reviews of this restaurant before entering.

At home in England, Saturday night is curry night so we thought we would do the same in Dublin. We only went in here because it started to rain. If we'd have had an umbrella we would have given it a miss.

The chicken when bitten into oozed water and had no taste whatsoever. Wherever did they get it from?

Only positive is that we were not ill from eating here.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Absolute shambles”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2012

Worst restaurant ever!! Faulty towers Indian style! If you want the worst food ever for the worst value ever go here!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Worst Indian I have ever had!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2011

Was in Dublin for a Rugby weekend with some mates. Post match curry was calling and we found this place. From the moment we walked in the dodgy interior had my hopes fairly low - but nothing could really prepare me for the food.

The poppadoms where dripping in oil when they were served and the pickle tray had clearly been round many table before us resulting in the most water mango chutney. The main course was brought out and the disappointment continued. Despite all ordering different curries all six of us were presented with what looked like the same bowl of grey/brown sludge with a very thick layer of oil floating on top. They all tasted just horrible and surprisingly similar. The rise was boiled to death and totally flavourless and one mouthful of the naan bread was enough.

To add insult to the situation the bill was 170 euros for 6 people - daylight robbery!

  • Visited December 2011
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Aleena Indian Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Aleena Indian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Aleena Indian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.