We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient Good Food” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Italian Corner

The Italian Corner
23/24 Wellington Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
00353 0 1 671 9114
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #415 of 1,890 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Romance, Large groups, Special occasions, Entertaining clients, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Convenient Good Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

We stayed in the guest lodge above so visited for occasional lunch and breakfast. Food was good and good value. Breakfast options were great and served quickly to get you on with your day.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    114
    135
    40
    16
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dublin,ireland
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
135 helpful votes 135 helpful votes
“Surprised at how good it was”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 25, 2013

Went here Saturday evening and was really surprised at how good it was. Had the prawns in garlic to start and they were delicious, really fresh and juicy. I had the special of the day 'pan fried rack of lamb' for main and again really well cooked, other party had the seafood pasta and said it was excellent. There was also a guy playing music and singing it was a fantastic meal with a lovely atmosphere. It was extremely busy the staff seemed run off their feet, really could do with an extra staff member or two but it didn't take away from the meal. For 2 starters, mains, wine and coffee it was excellent value at €67 euro, will definitely be back especially for the entertainment.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
126 reviews 126 reviews
98 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
67 helpful votes 67 helpful votes
“Nice Food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013 via mobile

We visited here on a Sunday afternoon, the staff were attentive and the food reasonably priced. The pizzas were nice, though could have been a bit more crispy in the centre. The spaghetti with prawns amazing!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“don't go here with a voucher”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

We had a voucher for 2 glasses of wine and two pizza or pasta dishes. right away we got the whole " oh, you have a voucher" attitude that lots of restaurants adopt.

the waiter came over " you get a glass of wine. do you want red or white?"

well, the proper way to greet someone in this this case is to explain what you get with the voucher and what wine you choose from - you know, aside from red or white. shiraz, sav blanc and so on. even if it's just one type,,,tell me what it is.

my friend ordered pasta carbonara and i had rigatoni, which on the menu looks like this :

RIGATONI CON RICOTTA : Rigatoni with aubergine, fresh tomato & red pepper, basil & ricotta cheese, garlic crumb.

this gave me the impression that it was in a ricotta sauce, as 'con' is italian for 'with'. well, it wasn't. it was in a tomato sauce with a blob of cold ricotta thrown on top.

i could have made this at home.

afterwards, the waitress asked if we wanted dessert to which i replied " no thanks, i ll get a coffee in a bit."

"americano?"
"....no thanks, a latte"

she brought it right away, followed by the bill.

in short, restaurants, don't sign up for vouchers if you don't want people to redeem them. the service turned me off...as did my cheeseless pasta.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wexford
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Top Notch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 14, 2013

Had a beautiful early bird meal. Bruschetta to start followed by the finest prawn pasta dish I have ever tasted, & then finished off with a really good Americano! What more can I say.... I will be back. Actually just thought of one thing, a chocolate or biscuit with my coffee would have been a nice touch! Good prices

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Italian Corner also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Italian Corner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Italian Corner, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.