We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent steak dinner, waitress was a star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of F.X.Buckley

F.X.Buckley
1A Lower Pembroke Street | (Off Baggot Street Lower), Dublin 2, Ireland
01 676 4606
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #48 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $65
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Irish, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Dublin's original steakhouse with the experience and knowledge of over 25 years of serving the perfect steak. We change our menus each season to reflect the best that Irish produce has to offer and to ensure the highest quality of local fresh seafood. We offer an informed wine list to meet all budgets and an extensive selection of cocktails and spirits. We are also open for weekday for lunch serving health and tasty dishes at very reasonable prices. The way in which we guarantee the highest quality in beef in both texture and flavour is by choosing Irish beef and the highest grade of traditional breeds of cattle. At F.X.BUCKLEY our prime cuts are hung on the bone at 4°C and at 80% humidity for a minimum of 28 days. Storing meat for several weeks where it can loose up to 16% of it's weight involves considerable expertise so all F.X.BUCKLEY butchers are specifically trained for the process. The benefit for our patrons is to experience the concentration and saturation of natural meat flavours and superior tenderness. Hence why you will hear experts use terms such as "buttery and rich", and "earthy and nutty" to describe our dry-aged beef.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent steak dinner, waitress was a star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013 via mobile

Went here on the strength of trip advisor reviews and it was fab. If you like steak then there is little to beat this restaurant. Service was superb and great value for money.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

337 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    206
    96
    27
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Nice steak not the best”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013 via mobile

Had dinner here with my husband. Excellent and attentive service. I had the fillet steak with chips and salad. The steak was delicious, chips average, salad wasn't very fresh. Husband had the sirloin with chips and salad. Unfortunately he asked for medium rare and got a medium steak which he didn't enjoy very much. Shared the cheeseboard which was good but the grapes weren't very fresh either. The service made up for what was lacking in the food. I think there are better steakhouses in Dublin that would serve nicer sides along with a good steak so I wouldnt hurry back.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Amazing steaks”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013 via mobile

We had asked in a few bars and all recomended fxb's so we went to try it out . The place was mobbed but the staff moved tables around to fit us in.

The steaks where fantastic , best I've had in a while and the various sides where also excellent. Service was great and I would certainly go back. Not cheap but worth the money

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“GREAT FOOD FOR ADULTS AND CHILDREN ALIKE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

We visited FX BUCKLEY on Fri10TH May. We were a party of 11 adults and5children.They cartered for adults and children alike.The children were offered half size adults meals.The staff were wonderfull with the children.The food was excellent and the steaks were cooked to perfection.Looking forward to visiting the restaurant again.Highly recommended

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 53 cities Reviews in 53 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Great steak”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2013 via mobile

I dined here with a friend at her recommendation.

The chowder and steak were delicious and the portions were generous, although quite expensive.

The only disappointment was the large group beside us, who were extremely noisy.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed F.X.Buckley also viewed

 

Been to F.X.Buckley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage F.X.Buckley, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.