We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Way too expensive for what it is.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Herberton Apartments

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Herberton Apartments to your Saves list
Herberton Apartments
3.0 of 5 Condominium   |   St. Anthony's Road, Dublin, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #74 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Angers, France
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Way too expensive for what it is.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2014

I was desperately looking for a room to rent to spend the semester in Dublin, and this residence (you can easily call it a student residence to be honest), was my only option to make sure to have a roof over my head. I shared my bedroom with someone else in order to save money, but the price was still pretty expensive (109€/week). Amenities were there, but most of them weren't fonctionnal (especially internet, the dishwasher and the clothe dryer, so prepare yourself to wash your dishes and switch the heating on). Moreover, even if the living room was spacious -which was enjoyable-, the fridge and the freezer were way too small for 4 persons. Finally, note that there's only one desk and one closet within the twin room...
Also, the closest grocery store is Lidl, but you have to get through what I would call the ghetto of Dublin that is Rialto (you'll know that it is not the best area of Dublin to have a walk on your own).
Contrary to the pictures on the website that can give you an idea of what it looks like, the swimming pool and the fitness gym are NOT within the accomodation but next to it.
The service is really poor, especially at the reception (closed most of the time).
Plus, if you are a foreigner, let me warn you that you'll have to pay the entire rent on the day of your arrival (which is quite surprising when not informed).

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    4
    5
    6
    5
    11
See reviews for
14
Couples
0
2
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Location
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guadalajara, Spain
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2014

When we travel, we usually book apartments because we are a family, and it has been great until Herberton Apartments. The photographs doesn`t show how the apartments are in fact. All the critics in this web site are absolutely certain. Broken things, dirty oven, dirty, written and painted walls. The only thing was good. the floor, it wasn't carpet. It was 25 minutes walking from the City Centre.
The worst thing was that before we went there, I had asked them the best way to get. Nobody answered me, so we arrived on Saturday at 21,00 h and we couldn't find the reception, because it was dark and the apartments are in two buildings, impossible to find. We got it thanks a very friendly Irish person who helped us.
Also, we are five person: when we entered, there were four beds, four chairs, there weren`t enough glasses...
In the information they sent me when I booked, it said that we could go to the Leisure Centre: we had some problems with this as well.
In the other hand, the receptionists were friendly and helpful, and the apartments have parking.
We aren't particularly demanding, but this time I felt absolutely deceived, and disrespected.
A teasing.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duns, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2014

The place was falling to bits first experience son getting locked in bathroom as handle fell off door, broken blinds , mould ,dirt in bathrooms and cooker disgusting this should be your last choice of place to stay .

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid, Spain
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2014

It is the first comment that we do in TripAdvisor but a negative comment is necessary in order to warm possible future victims: We were extremely disappointed about the apartment. There were so many things that should be fixed, that it is almost impossible to list:

It was dirty. Some blinds were broken, so we had to close the windows with plastic bags not to be seen sleeping from the outside. You could only connect to the wifi outside the apartment. No table clothe at all. Cistern and waste pipe in the small bathroom were broken, making noise all the night. Courtains in the big bathroom were useless since they don't reach the bathtube, and they stack to your body when having a shower. Some mattresses were so old and uncomfortable that we could hardly sleep, because the springs sticked in your back.

In summary, that apartment, as the owner and Booking.com (we booked through them) should know, was not ready to be rented at all. Especially if they want to charge the exorbitant amount of money that they ask.

Room Tip: Just can recommend do not rent there.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

I recently stayed in Herberton Apartments with family over a long weekend and our experience was GREAT! We stayed for 3 nights in a 3 bedroom apartment. The price is excellent and it is directly across the street from the LUAS tram that takes you into the city in just a few stops. It is apartment style, so don't expect hotel standards, but the hotel is clean, conveniently situated near a metro, provides internet in each room, is spacious, and a great value for such an expensive city to visit. I will definitely stay here again if we have the opportunity to visit Dublin again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidenhead
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

These are relatively new apartments, near to the Luas tram into town, which is very useful, and the rooms are a good size. BUT They are starting to get shabby, with broken window blinds, fridge handles, and the beds are very poor quality and uncomfortable. In our appartment there was no kettle and no hot water, which is frankly dreadful. TV aerial doesn't work, you are better off removing the cable from the wall box and holding it n your hand. That does at least give a picture!
Area nearby is quite run down and can be a bit threatening. Also there are no local shops to buy food, if you were thinking of doing some self catering. They seem to allow large all male groups to book in and we had some noise from neighbours.
Not sure what the reception opening times are: I am waiting to complain about the water if only there was someone I could complain to.

One telling sign- we took a taxi from the airport and the driver asked "why are you staying in that area"

Most unlike me, but I didn't check Tripadvisor before booking, and I wish I had!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aarhus, Arhus, Denmark
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

We had booked a room for 8, but there was only 6 beds! The kitchen was not properly equipped and even though we asked for the missing plates and cups, we didnt get what was needed. The appartment seemed "unfinished" as there wasn't light in all lamps, and wires was hanging from the ceiling. Even though it wasnt the most expensive appartment, I wouldnt go there again, and it wasn't worth the price!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Herberton Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Herberton Apartments

Address: St. Anthony's Road, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #74 of 91 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Herberton Apartments 3*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HostelWorld so you can book your Herberton Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Herberton Apartments, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.