We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and Grill

Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and Grill
51 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
00353 1 6771155
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #329 of 1,822 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dessert, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Following on the success of his London restaurants, Marco is proud to open his first Irish venture, here on Dawson Street. Like the man himself, the new venue is flamboyant, entertaining and full of character. This is a place where diners can enjoy simple yet exquisite cuisine that perfectly embodies what Marco calls Affordable Glamour.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
175 reviews 175 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
146 helpful votes 146 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2011

Ate here this evening and took advantage of their Early Bird menu of two courses for Euro19.50. The waiter was really helpful and friendly. To start we both had the asparagus with hollandaise sauce - delicous. The asparagus was perfectly cooked and the hollandaise was the best I've ever tasted. Next up one of us had the Haddock with mushy peas and chips - very nice. The other had the special of the day with was roast pork stuffed with apricot and sausage stuffing - amazing, this was fabulous. It came with little cubes of Roast Potatoe, Carrots and Cabbage (although I normally hate this veg - whatever they did to it in MPW it was very tasty). The dining room is really comfortable and has a lovely relaxed feel about it. The background music had a really relaxed and laid back vibe which added to the atmosphere of the restaurant. Two glasses of house wine at Euro6 each were very nice indeed. Finished off with coffee and the total bill for two came to only Euro55 which is fantastic value for the quality of food that we received. Would reccomend this restaurant to anyone.

  • Visited February 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

592 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    264
    173
    91
    43
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
“Fantastic animated waiters, scrumptious food in a relaxed atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2011

Arrived into a very busy restaurant to be greeted warmly by extremely friendly staff. We were seated in the middle of the restaurant near the door. As it was a cold night, I happened to say I was feeling the cold each time the door was opened. Immediately the waiter rearranged the movable French partition to block the draft from the door to help this. Each waiter who came to our table was efficient, very entertaining and extremely helpful in relation to the menu. The food was amazing and lived up to the advertising on the website. The atmosphere was very lively. A great buzz about the place. However, as we were in the centre of the restaurant at times it was noisy, so if you wanted an intimate dining experience not the ideal place. I did notice there were one or two booths to the side so maybe request that for a cosier conversation, as if I had to pick a fault at times it was a bit noisy in the centre of the restaurant and I had difficulty hearing all the conversation as there were four of us, so depending on the type of evening it is, this could affect it. Therefore, when I book again for two I would ask for a table away from the centre of the restaurant.

  • Visited November 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athlone,
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Thoroughly enjoyed it...”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2011

Went for dinner here between Christmas and new year, food is excellent, but the desserts, the desserts are amazing - out of this world. Chocolate and caramel pots with hazelnut shortbread...! Two people had steak, perfectly cooked and very tasty and two of us had the venison, really good. The service was very good and the resturant itself is trendy, stylish and buzzing, now its not a cheap place to go for dinner but not overly expensive either. If you are in Dublin would and you like your meat, would definitely recommend.

  • Visited December 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redcar, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
125 reviews 125 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
165 helpful votes 165 helpful votes
“Gorgeous food, great atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2011

loved our anniversary meal at this restaurant. We ate at a spacious corner table, overlooking the other tables in the restaurant - there was a great buzz/atmosphere in this restaurant, which really contributed to the dining experience. Both our starters and main courses were delicious - the steak was absolutely gorgeous and I would highly recommend the goats cheese and beetroot salad starter. Staff were all friendly and polite, and the whole place felt very unpretentious, whilst at the same time still creating a special dining experience.
Yes the prices at this restaurant are higher than average, but in my honest opinion, are well worth it, particularly when you want that special treat in life!

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2010

Called in whilst shopping and glad we did. Food was very good and just as important . the atmosphere was buzzy and trendy. Hard to get both in a restaurant, so pretty good experience all round.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and Grill also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Marco Pierre White Steakhouse and Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.