We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious Intimate Italian” 5 of 5 stars
Review of IL VICOLETTO

IL VICOLETTO
5 Crow Street, Temple Bar | Beside the Foggy Dew Pub( Back Entrance), Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Temple Bar)
+353 1 670 8633
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #21 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $22 - $55
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: For reservations please contact directly the restaurant or else you may email us directly on our email address Please be aware that we don''t take responsibility for third parties reservations ( online websites featuring restaurants) as none of them are employed by us. In order to avoid any confusion or disappointment please contact the restaurant directly . Regards , the management
Dublin
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Delicious Intimate Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2013

I ate here for the first time with my Mam and my Auntie who was celebrating her birthday. We had a lovely corner table at the window and the atmosphere in the restaurant was warm and welcoming.The service was fantastic and the waiter had a thorough knowledge of the menu and wines with excellent recommendations for us all. We had red ravioli with ricotta and spinach, spaghetti caprese and risotto with parmesan and pear all of which were light yet full of flavour. The wine was a good accompaniment as was the tasty rustic bread with olive oil and balmasmic vinegar. We all got desserts and I would highly recommend the panna cotta. We found the whole experience to be very Italian! A great find in Temple Bar which can be overpriced and a little tacky. This was certainly nothing like that!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

518 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    365
    108
    29
    7
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Carrickfergus, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Great Italian in the heart of Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

I have eaten in Il Vicolettos on perhaps 10 occasions and have never been disappointed - friendly staff - great food - quick service and the price is always reasonable. Hopefully will be there again within the next couple of weeks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Il Vicoletto ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

Very impressed! Great service (Roberto's recommendations were spot on). Delicious fresh food. Better than our experience in Rome! Highly recommended! Romantic music and an unpretentious relaxed atmosphere. If you want geniuine Italian experience, this the place for you.

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“You can understand why it's in Dublins top 10”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013 via mobile

This is a compact resturant tucked away in Dublin, but absolutely worth a visit. The staff was super friendly and the food was simply amazing. We had the best mozzarella I have ever eaten outside Italy. The special of the evening was a homemade tomato ravioli which was also superb. My only negative (which is a small one) was it was a little cramped inside and the tables and chairs were tight. If you like Italian food, I would fully recommend.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

I am Italian and when I came to Dublin I wasn't honestly expecting to find any good Italian restaurants so far, but I was really really impressed when we first went to Il Vicoletto. It's a small place with good atmosphere, everyone is Italian (which is great), the service is great, the food is really tasty, truly italian, and If you didn't like the service or the food than you don't like the real Italian but just the fake one. I had a great experience and will go back soon!
Try it!

Per il Manager: Ho letto le sue risposte alle review negative e devo ammettere che apprezzo tantissimo il suo atteggiamento, che non e' sottomesso al cliente, ma dedicato a. Mi piace vedere che non tutti accettano passivamente l'opinione della clientela secondo la regola "ha sempre ragione", ma piuttosto difendono la qualita' e la genuinita' del posto in cui stanno lavorando. La apprezzo molto. Le auguro successo e felicita'.

Diego e Giulia

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed IL VICOLETTO also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to IL VICOLETTO? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage IL VICOLETTO, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.