We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great travel experience.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Ferries - Day Trips

Irish Ferries - Day Trips
Terminal Road South | Ferryport, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
+353 1 607 5519
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #227 of 610 things to do in Dublin
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Irish Ferries, Ireland's Leading Ferry Company. Offering up to 16 daily fast ferry and cruise ferry sailings to Britain & Ireland and France. Also package holidays to Ireland and Britain.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“A great travel experience.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

We had heavy cases so we decided to take the train and ferry route from London to Dublin.

The Virgin train from Euston Station left bang on time and was very comfortable and quick. It was a modern high-speed train, which took us, with some stops but without any changes, to Holyhead.

The journey through the English and Welsh countryside was beautiful. We didn't have to wait too long at Holyhead before boarding the Ulysses. It was a huge ship with every comfort. It had restaurants, bars, shops and a cinema. The seating was comfortable enough for a three-hour voyage across the Irish Sea. There was an area with even more comfortable pullman-type seating but I imagine they would be hard to get on a busier day.

The crossing was smooth and enjoyable. Using the train and ferry is a very viable option when compared to low-cost airlines operating between London and Dublin. We left London at 08.50 and arrived in Dublin at 17.30 as scheduled. It took 8 hours and 40 minutes city-centre to city centre. We felt it wasn't much longer than flying when the time getting to and waiting in airports is included.

We appreciated the freedom to walk around on both the train and the ferry. Maybe we were lucky in the sense that the weather was very good on the day we travelled and that the ferry was neither delayed nor too busy. All of the staff with whom we engaged on the train and the ferry and at the stations and ports were very helpful and pleasant. The total cost was much more economical than flying.

Though we chose the sea bridge partly as a novelty journey, we were so impressed that we'd consider it as an option in the future. Buying food and drink on both the train and ferry may be pricey for those on a budget but they have the option to take their own store-bought refreshments with them.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

359 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    100
    56
    36
    49
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stoke
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Terrible”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013 via mobile

Train late so had to spend 9 hours in holyhead . Irish ferries left without any of the sailrail foot passengers who had booked. The desk didn't care I had a through train to cork which I had missed. Even a simple questions as to whether a cabin was available on the later ferry I was to take was too much for the desk in the terminal to deal with, or they took pleasure in not helping. Never again makes Ryanair look like business class.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
29 attraction reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing Ride”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2013

Took this last week from Pembroke, Wales to Rosslare, Ireland. It was a nice boat, had good size Duty free gift shop, full restaurant, and a pub. For the kids they had a mini play area with arcade and a pool full of balls. Overall a nice relaxing way to get around. Easy to board, fast to load, and fast to unload. We brought a car and found it easy to find our car again, unlike other ferries we have used in Europe. I do recommend this ferry, I know that they offer cabins and that would be a great idea if you were to use the 2:45am ferry.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
“Upgrade to Club Class”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Decided to take a daytrip to holyhead to meet family who were away on a break in Wales.

Tooke the Jonathon Swift which is much faster at just over 1.5hrs each way. Very clean. The onlt thing I would say is that onboard the restaurant and bar are quite pricey.

If you like a glass of wine I would reccommend you pay the £15/€18 and upgrade to club class with inclusive tea/coffee nibbles and wine.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Good value, comfy cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013 via mobile

Before this last ferry crossing, the one before was on a positively ancient floating hotel in the bottom end of the ship in what felt like a dungeon, sharing a bathroom that was swimming in other people's pee with those other people.

So we were thoroughly delighted to find a lovely clean, bright, ensuite cabin, even though it was only a two star. Staff weren't super-friendly but were helpful & efficient. Irish ferries were most obliging when the other ferry line were on strike, too.

I learned a few important things:

If travelling on a budget, a cooler box with your own dinner & breakfast is a must. The cheaper cafe food on board is awful.

If you're a light sleeper, earplugs!

If you are at all faint of stomach, DON'T go to the cinema!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Ferries - Day Trips also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Irish Ferries - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Ferries - Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.