We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oscar Wilde five-star - Loved it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Irish Ferries - Day Trips

Irish Ferries - Day Trips
Terminal Road South | Ferryport, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
+353 1 607 5519
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #166 of 286 Activities in Dublin
Type: Ferries/ Boats, Gear rentals
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Irish Ferries, Ireland's Leading Ferry Company. Offering up to 16 daily fast ferry and cruise ferry sailings to Britain & Ireland and France. Also package holidays to Ireland and Britain.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 attraction reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Oscar Wilde five-star - Loved it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Travelled to France in September for our 25th wedding anniversary so decided to treat ourselves to five star cabin on way out. Great experience, so we upgraded from two-star for the return journey. Staff incredibly friendly, which was great. Special word of thanks to Sharon in Rosslare Port office, who was extremely helpful. Thanks Sharon!

The food in the waiter-service restaurant was okay on the way out - wine in particular was good value - and superb on the way back - best lamb shank I've eaten. Menu slightly confusing - two (very similar) versions were available in our cabin, but only one actually available in the restaurant. Also, the price shown menu, 36.95, is for 3 courses and doesn't make it clear that you can choose 2 courses (starter/main or main/dessert) for 29.95 - quite a saving for two people and enough to cover a bottle of wine! Total cost was around 75 euro for two including wine and tea/coffee, and was good value for what we got, especially on the return journey on 17th September.

The cabin on the 8th deck was spacious with a really comfortable double bed and a sitting area. Carpets could do with deep-cleaning or replacing, otherwise cabin very clean. On the outward journey I noticed - by hitting against it, unfortunately! - that the glass coffee table had sharp corners and I didn't think this was a great idea on a swaying ship. Our cabin on the return journey had no table and the hostess said it had been removed because somebody hit against it (not me!). I'd suggest removing /replacing any of the coffee tables with sharp corners - I certainly wouldn't be happy having a small child near one.

Other than that, everything was excellent - I'll have to try and stretch to five star in future! Cost difference was about 195 euro per journey but that included breakfast (in cabin on outward journey, restaurant on return) which would normally be 15 euro a head, plus fruit, soft drinks and four small bottles of wine on each leg of the journey.

Total cost was somewhere around 700-750, which was very good taking into account hotel-standard room for two nights. Best sailing I've ever had - probably helped by calm seas and half-empty boat, but the staff played a large part in making it a good experience. Will be sailing with Irish Ferries again.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

334 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    112
    91
    52
    35
    44
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Templeogue, Dublin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Nice comfortable journey”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We booked the suite and it was excellent and made our journey that bit more enjoyable. Facilities are great after paying the extra little bit you get coffee and wine and food all free.

Visited July 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
14 attraction reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Perfect for travelling with small child”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just returned from travelling Rosslare - Roscoff & Cherbourg - Rosslare on the Oscar Wilde. Truly the most pleasant way to travel. We arrived 90mins before departure and were straight onboard ship. Our 3star cabin was on deck 6, in the middle of the ship, spotlessly clean and well equipped with two single beds and a clean travel cot. There is a great padded play area for small children on deck 7 beside the cafe which is great for the little one. We booked dinner in the resturant. The service was attentive but not overly so and the food was good. We all slept really well - I think the gentle vibration of the engines lulled us all to sleep. The staff onboard were unfailingy helpful and courteous. We had booked priority disembarkation for Roscoff and were literally 2nd off the boat - ideal with a tetchy 14mth old! The trip back was equally smooth and easy. No way I would swap this for a crowded airport and narrow airplane seat! The only minor quibble is that it would be nice to have a towel provided for the child, as 2 towels for 2 adults and a baby is too few!

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shrewsbury, Shropshire
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
15 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
“Swift ... but that's about it”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

I took my sick father-in-law to see his family in Ireland and my wife who suffers from MS. We went by Stena but had to have the Swift on return as the HSS stops for the winter. We got to the terminal with an hour and half to spare and booked in stating the medical conditions we had. We were given the paperwork and orange assistance alert sheet to put in the windscreen that was supposed to help us on board. We ended up being last to board along with several other vehicles carrying disabled. Once on board we had to stand at the bottom of the stairwell in a small area for the lift which carried four people including the attendant whilst other people had to push past wheelchairs and disabled to get up the stairs. The lift was so slow that by the time we got to the passenger deck most of the seats were taken and we were lucky to find three together. The seating is uncomfortable, mainly blocks of two with armrests that don't move so that you have to squeeze up from the table and/or ask the person at the end to move so that you could get out. My seriously ill father-in-law who was in pain a lot of the time couldn't get comfortable at all and my wife who has MS in her leg found it awkward to say the least. After two hours we were glad to get off but that wasn't the end of it. There were only two sit-down cubicles for the men near our seat and the same for women. Someone said it was the same at the other end of the area. Consequently, long queues formed and we had to wait on the stairwell which initiated a few negative comments. When we were told to go back to the car deck there was the same crush around the lift and stairwell. I had to wait by the car along with others for the disabled to join us in the painfully slow lift. Meanwhile all the cars on our deck had left which made us concerned what would happen next. We were the last to get off! This could have been avoided if the disabled had been allowed to get to the car deck in good time before the able-bodied rushed through. In all this time not one member of staff assisted any disabled person and no one seemed to be bothered. We will never use the Swift again despite it being a little cheaper over the HSS. Apart from the restaurant which seemed okay, if a little over-priced, there is no redeeming feature for our first trip with Irish Ferries Swift.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kildare
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Oscar Wilde - 5star Cabins”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Just returned to Roslare from Roscoff. Decided to try the 5star cabin. Found it very comfortable on 8th deck at front of boat. Almost no vibration and no engine noise in cabin 8100 - though flat seas may have helped! Staff were very helpful and restaurant surprisingly good. It was busy but staff very polite when they asked us to wait 10 mins as our table was not ready. The food was well prepared, it was worth waiting for. 5star cabin includes complimentary minibar and full breakfast. Will definitely try this again as it is far superior to the 3star and 4star cabins we have used before. If you can afford the extra cost then consider it as money well spent.

Visited September 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Irish Ferries - Day Trips also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Irish Ferries - Day Trips? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Irish Ferries - Day Trips, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.