We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Creepy Places in the Northside!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hidden Dublin Walking Tours

Hidden Dublin Walking Tours
58 Mellowes Quay, Dublin, Ireland
Improve this listing
Book Now

Ranked #101 of 197 activities in Dublin
Type: Tours
Attraction Details
Massachusetts
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Creepy Places in the Northside!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

Our tour was on a cool night and it was hard to tell the difference between goose-bumps from the cold v. the fright. Our tour guide was very knowledgeable and took us to many places that I would like to visit now to see the history and maybe even a ghost or two! THe creepiest part of the Northside Ghost Tour was the old electrical building that has been abandoned for over 30 years but you feel someone watching you from inside.... A bonus is ending at the Brazen Head...FYI.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

163 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    41
    13
    4
    7
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The Black Tale”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

I very much enjoyed this tour! Very entertaining and theatrical (without overdoing it). Our guide played John Brien, an employee of Guinness, a company famous not only for its brews, but for its consideration for its employees. "From the womb to the tomb." Our guide was very informative. He told us stories, sang, and gave us a very heartfelt look into what Dublin was like 'back in his day'. We went to a lot of places, and we were almost thrown out of an area with a large pear tree! Our guide took the security guard to the side and explained what was happening. John came back and told us that as long as we didn't steal the pears, we are welcome to stay. He showed us maps of the old area, advertisements that showed the politics and how companies needed the public on their side, and ended the tour quite nicely. It was a bit difficult for those unfamiliar with Dublin on how to get back to the original meeting place. Other than that, it was a solid tour and I would really like to go on it again.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Northside ghost walk- very interesting!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Myself and my boyfriend decided to go on the northside ghost walk while we were in Dublin. The tour left at 8pm and as it was October it was already dark which gave it a really spooky atmosphere before we had even left. Our tour guide Ashling was brilliant, she obviously loves her job and was really enthusiastic. We learned so much about Dublin and its history, especially about places that you wouldn't think twice about normally. The tour was really informative and we made lots of stops at some of Dublin's most haunted locations. The stories were all very interesting and were the kind of stuff that you wouldn't have heard anywhere else! Although we didn't see anything weird going on it was still creepy enough standing outside a supposedly haunted building in the dark hearing stories about it! We were warned before we left that some of the local kids might decide to tag on for a bit to annoy people which did happen but after being ignored they got bored and wandered off. Would have been a bit annoying if they had stayed for any longer though! Nothing particularly strange happened on out tour however we kept hearing stories from other tours about weird things which made us think that maybe everyone is told these stories from previous tours to keep everyone on edge, which is a good idea because it did work! The tour finished up in the Brazen Head pub which is well worth a visit. Overall we really enjoyed the tour and would recommend it to anyone who likes scary stories and wants to learn about Dublin's past.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Black Tale Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

We two Dubliners went on Garvan's tour today, and had a great time.
It was a lovely day which helped, and we saw lots of Dublin that we had never seen before.
The stories were really entertaining, and he did Guinness proud!
Would highly recommend it to anyone with an interest in the history of Dublin and the Black Stuff.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ireland
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Hellfire tour - lacking drama and storytellers.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

First impressions were not good. The stories on the way to the Dublin mountains were pretty lame and not even told in a interesting way. I was tempted to put in my headphones until we got there.

The walk up the mountain wasn't very exciting either but was cool to go inside the hellfire club at the top and see views if Dublin city.

I think they need someone with a bit of imagination to inject some drama into the stories ..ending a story with 'but it's very unlikely that's true because..' isn't very exciting.

I've been on the gravedigger bus tour and this is no comparison to the laughs and frights.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hidden Dublin Walking Tours also viewed

 

Been to Hidden Dublin Walking Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hidden Dublin Walking Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Hidden Dublin Walking Tours to your Saves list