We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen of Tarts

Queen of Tarts
3 - 4 Cow's Lane, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01 633 4681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 1,898 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Delivery, Takeout
Neighborhood: South City Centre
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went for coffee and cake. How could we not with 'Queen of tarts' as a name!
We were not disappointed. Sat outside. I had the chocolate cake, my friend had the cheesecake and they were both lovely! Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,368
    615
    103
    30
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and cramped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here because of the reviews, but its not a place I would make an effort to find again.
The food was OK at best, but wasn't cheap and the space is very cramped.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Level Contributor
58 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Charming place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friends and I stopped here for an afternoon snack. I had a chocolate pecan tart. I thought it was a little dry. My friend thought the Victorian sponge cake was very good. The tarts cost 5 euro. The atmosphere was very authentic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Delicious hot breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This little shop is in central Dublin and absolutely adorable. I was slightly hungover and when we walked in I was afraid they only sold baked goods, but I was pleasantly surprised when we sat down and were presented with a menu with hot entrees. The Irish breakfast was delicious, the fruit and yogurt was very yummy, our scone was too die for, and our cappuccinos were excellent. Very glad we visited during our trip to Dublin!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, NY
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Little treasure of a cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Delightful little cafe where you can have tea. lunch and/or dessert. We enjoyed it so much we returned again for another lunch before we left Dublin - definitely one of the best places we ate in the city. The dessert tarts are works of art and are tasty to match. See attached photos. The waitresses were attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen of Tarts also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Queen of Tarts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen of Tarts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.