We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cake!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Queen of Tarts

Queen of Tarts
3 - 4 Cow's Lane, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01 633 4681
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 1,886 Restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Takeout, Delivery, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Cake!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 25, 2013

Went for coffee and cake. How could we not with 'Queen of tarts' as a name!
We were not disappointed. Sat outside. I had the chocolate cake, my friend had the cheesecake and they were both lovely! Definitely worth a visit.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,389 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    886
    410
    68
    20
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Over priced and cramped”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here because of the reviews, but its not a place I would make an effort to find again.
The food was OK at best, but wasn't cheap and the space is very cramped.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McLean, Virginia
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Charming place”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

My friends and I stopped here for an afternoon snack. I had a chocolate pecan tart. I thought it was a little dry. My friend thought the Victorian sponge cake was very good. The tarts cost 5 euro. The atmosphere was very authentic.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Delicious hot breakfast!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

This little shop is in central Dublin and absolutely adorable. I was slightly hungover and when we walked in I was afraid they only sold baked goods, but I was pleasantly surprised when we sat down and were presented with a menu with hot entrees. The Irish breakfast was delicious, the fruit and yogurt was very yummy, our scone was too die for, and our cappuccinos were excellent. Very glad we visited during our trip to Dublin!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bayside, NY
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Little treasure of a cafe”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2013

Delightful little cafe where you can have tea. lunch and/or dessert. We enjoyed it so much we returned again for another lunch before we left Dublin - definitely one of the best places we ate in the city. The dessert tarts are works of art and are tasty to match. See attached photos. The waitresses were attentive and friendly.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Queen of Tarts also viewed

 

Been to Queen of Tarts? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Queen of Tarts, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.