We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best restaurant I've ever been to!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Exchange

The Exchange
35-36 Westmoreland Street | At College Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (Temple Bar)
0035316451318
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #334 of 1,806 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $23 - $65
Cuisines: European, Irish, Seafood, Steakhouse
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: A stylish, relaxed brasserie, The Exchange Restaurant and Cocktail Bar is a cosy venue beside Dublin's Trinity College. The Exchange's dining room is flooded with natural light and features a stunning Art Deco style mural, plush leather benches, intimate corners and friendly service. With the option to choose from bar bites to sharing plates, light meals and comforting favourites, all made using the freshest ingredients from local Irish suppliers. The Cocktail Bar, with its quirky 1930s theme, is a lively place to drop by for a glass of bubbly or a signature cocktail inspired by forgotten recipes from the past.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“The best restaurant I've ever been to!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The food and service at this restaurant is impeccable.
I wish I lived in Ireland so I could go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExchangeRestaurant, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear LightningMcQueen79,

Thanks so much for your great review!

It's great that you enjoyed the restaurant so much, hopefully if you travel back to Ireland soon you will have the opportunity to join us in the restaurant again.

Best regards,
Diarmaid Greene
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

87% Recommend
    32
    18
    4
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delicious meal and great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2013

We stumbled upon The Exchange this weekend in Dublin, the food was to die for! I visited The Exchange with my boyfriend for his birthday meal and couldn't have been more impressed. We both ordered steaks (which were cooked to perfection) and had the Goats Cheese starter and Seafood Platter for starters. They also offer a range of fresh breads and delicious cocktails. The service was great and the atmosphere was comfortable but sophisticated. Definitely worth a visit if you are looking for delicious food, nice surroundings and something a bit special!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExchangeRestaurant, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Rebeccaja,

Thank you so much for writing such a great review of The Exchange Restaurant & Cocktail Bar. I am delighted to read that you & your boyfriend enjoyed a fabulous birthday dinner with us and took the opportunity to sample some of our delicious food & creative cockatils. I hope that your review will encourage even more guests to visit us when in Dublin and looking for that 'something special'.
I hope to welcome you back to The Exchange again soon.
Best regards,
Diarmaid Greene
Restaurant Manager
The Exchange Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food and cocktails and good value we had a fantastic experience, this place is a real 'catch'”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013 via mobile

Took my wife and a few friends here for her birthday, we heard a lot about the food in particular the catch of the day, really good idea you pick the fish(3options and cooking methods)2side dishes and a sauce!!!! Such a great idea! I had Cod with green beans and bacon& aioli chips(Gorgious) with a smokey tomato sauce. My wife also had the catch but with Greek salad and braised rice.other dishes were halibut, with creamy leeks and buttery potatoes! Looked good! Last dish was a beautiful large rib steak with thick crunchy chips with onions and tomato all served on a board!! We shared the seafood plate to start which had loads to offer, the girls had deserts which were fantastic value from what I saw and they described...then there was the cocktails they were great I think we tried 8 different cocktails the best of which was the'old fashion' it was rum served IN A ICE BALL!!!! The night was great start for our night out and the bill was very reasonable. We have been back for the early bird menu which is the same as the full ala carte menu but reduced value. We will go again, PS staff were helpful and very friendly.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExchangeRestaurant, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this review, May 25, 2013
Dear ChefY2J,

Thank you for writing a review of your recent experience of The Exchange Restaurant & Cocktail Bar. I am delighted you tried many of the restaurant signature dishes such as the Catch of the Day menu & also some of our unique cocktail creations from our National Cocktail Champion Deirdre Byrne. It is wonderful to read that you enjoyed your night with us & that the service was to your expectation.
We hope to welcome you & your friends back to The Exchange Restaurant in the near future.
Best regards,
Diarmaid Greene
Exchange Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013 via mobile

Great food and wine. Fantastic service. What more can you say other than its also value for money considering its central dublin location. No doubt but we will be back. The waiting staff were very friendly and obliging. Food fresh and tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExchangeRestaurant, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this review, May 21, 2013
Dear Denis M,

Thank you for taking the time to post a review of the restaurant on TripAdvisor. It is always great to read such nice comments especially from a regular contributor to TripAdvisor. I am delighted you enjoyed your meal with us and will pass your comments to the team. We hope to welcome you back to The Exchange Restuarant & Cocktail Bar in the near future.

Best regards,
Diarmaid Greene
Restaurant Manager
The Exchange Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“5 star quality meal”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Fantastic food - nice combination of meat and vegetables, very tender and tasty. The restaurant manager, Diarmaid, came over to make sure we were happy. We were.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ExchangeRestaurant, Manager at The Exchange, responded to this review, May 7, 2013
Dear Kingatchgook,

Thanks for posting a lovely review of your experience in The Exchange Restaurant & Cocktail Bar, I am delighted that you enjoyed your meal with us and that both the food & service was to your liking. I do hope you will visit us again soon if you are in Dublin.
Best regards,
Diarmaid Greene
Restaurant Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Exchange also viewed

 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Exchange? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Exchange, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.