We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clyde Court Hotel Landsdowne Road Dublin” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Clyde Court Hotel to your Saves list
Clyde Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #43 of 176 Hotels in Dublin
Ballymena, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Clyde Court Hotel Landsdowne Road Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

My wife and I are just back from a very enjoyable short stay at the Clyde Court Hotel.

This hotel is ideally situated within 200 metres of a D.A.R.T station making access to Dublin city centre so convenient.

Overall the hotel is presented in a very favourable way, with courteous and professional staff.

You are made feel welcome from the quick and efficient registration to the friendly restaurant and bar staff.

The foyer is very impressive and well presented and this trend is carried forward to the corridors and into the deluxe bedrooms, which are both clean and very inviting. Perphaps my only issue would be that there is no separate shower cubicle - only a shower over a bath tub - and personally I feel that this would enhance the rooms.

Room Tip: If possible request a room as facing Landsdowne Road and as far away from the external air-condition...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    188
    95
    29
    14
See reviews for
66
216
21
105
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Justin, Texas, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013

Stayed here two nights - the room although nicely enough appointed was hot, we called the front desk who supplied a fan (which they tried to convince us was an air conditioner!) which put out no air. The staff at the desk was rude & those in the bar weren't much better. The free Wi-Fi in the bar never worked & the daily charge for Wi-Fi in the room, which was very slow, was quite pricey!! You'd think a 4 star hotel, especially at the room rate they charge, could offer free Wi-Fi in the rooms!!

Overall, the location is good, the lobby looks recently refreshed but the rooms are average & the service is below poor - which at those rates is totally unacceptable! I would not and do not recommend!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

We stayed one night on the way back to England from our wedding in Ireland. The porter was so helpful as we had to unload a full car. The Manager personally greated us when he heard that we had just got married. He upgraded us and gave us a bottle of prosecco with our meal. These touches really made it really pleasant. We wanted somewhere convenient for the port and at a reasonable rate. Very happy.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamaica
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

I had to stay at this hotel at short notice when other plans fell through. I first tried to get a room at Bewleys Ballsbridge which in my opinion by far the best hotel in Dublin for service, value and convenience. I was referred here by Bewleys as they were full and this was close by. The reception staff who were all East Europeans were curt, spoke poor English and thought customer service was another name for an elevator (I think). When I got to the room, a junior suite, it overlooked a disgusting rooftop. I then tried to use the Internet but when I couldn't connect I tried to call reception. The two phones in the room didn't work. I called reception from my mobile phone and was told someone would come shortly. From 2.30pm till when I checked out...no sign. The last thing that really took the biscuit, was that for €279 for one night, you have to pay EXTRA for wifi!!! As a frequent traveller, and given how cheap and available this is, to charge €7.50 per day for wifi on top of an expensive room charge is not only a rip off in this day and age, but desperate to say the least. Even in McDonalds you get wifi free and you don't pay €279 to stay there! I would never recommend this hotel or stay there again...EVER!

Room Tip: I would give this hotel a miss!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013 via mobile

Just back from a relaxing break at the Clyde Court Hotel, from first checking in to the minute we left the service, dinner, breakfast and the room were all great! The receptionist (Mariana) was without doubt first class and a great ambassador for the hotel, her welcome and smile made us feel very welcome, other staff in the bar and restaurant were equally very pleasant and helpful. The location of this hotel is very convient to most things? Taxi €8 to town centre. No hesitation on recommending the Clyde Court Hotel to anyone and we look forward to our next visit :-)

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013 via mobile

Nice hotel to stay in, dinner was just beautiful and great value service was brilliant! Breakfast was very good also :) rooms were spotless, no nice view but you would get over that! All in all it was a great stay APART from the fire alarms going off at 6.30am waking us all up in a panic trying to get dressed and venturing down stairs to then be told it was a false alarm... Not impressed!!!!!! Especially for the price :O

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2013

Selection of this hotel was last minute, at random. Luckily for us it turned out to be a gem.
Spent two days here with a friend and thoroughly enjoyed the service. a special mention for the receptionist called Georgia who was super efficient in her job.
From check in to check out, no problems.
If I could describe the hotel decor, then it would have to be a cross between Art Deco and an early century quintessent gentleman's club with deep red colours.
Our room had all the amenities to be expected in a four star hotel, including tea/coffee making facilities. Very comfortable twin beds.Bathroom exhaust fan did not work but no big deal. View of the sports stadium from our window.
Breakfast is buffet with a chef serving you. Plenty of choice of cereals, fresh fruits, breads and of course the ' Irish ' eggs, fried or scrambled, bacon, sausage, potatoes, mushrooms, black pudding, and Irish pudding. A definite tasty fill up for the day ahead.
The hotel location is a good twenty five minutes walk from O' Connell Street. Alternatively a number 4 or 7 bus leaves from a stop just around the corner on Northumberland Road every 6 or 8 minutes, which takes you to the centre of town at the cost of 2:15 Euro's. If you like the train then Lansdowne Road station is just 5 minutes walk East and a train every 10 minutes to Tara or Connelly stations is very convenient, at the cost of 4 Euro's.
A taxi from Dublin's Airport to the hotel cost 25 Euro's.

Room Tip: Room 502 the furthest from the lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#34 Family Hotel in Dublin
#37 Business Hotel in Dublin
#39 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA, EasyToBook, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.