We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect for the matchgoer” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Clyde Court Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Clyde Court Hotel to your Saves list
Clyde Court Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #52 of 174 Hotels in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Perfect for the matchgoer”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013 via mobile

Stayed 2 nights before and after the rugby international.The location is perfect for this.It's a lively place on match day with all the public space given over to temporary bars ,live music and just about standing room only.The very good restaurant is still available but book ahead.It's good craig for the match day.By the next morning you wouldn't know it had happened ; the clean up being thoroughly professional and the hotel is back to calm pristine condition.
The location is perfect for the stadium and air coach stop linking the airport.The Dart railway station is nearby but difficult to find and poorly signposted.The hotel does not provide a local map.The room was very comfortably appointed with good heating /air conditioning,modern marble bathroom,and a great bed.The breakfast was excellent though we noticed some people queuing for tables at 10am.
Throughout our stay every one of the hotel staff were friendly and helpful to us ,as were all the Irish people we met in Dublin and Bray.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Dear AJ

Thanks for your kind review and we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us.

We hope you will visit us again in the near future.

Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    226
    105
    30
    15
See reviews for
78
244
23
130
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Galway, Ireland
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights the front house staff were very helpful and friendly. The restaurant manager was lovely and the food was amazing. Bedroom spacious and complimentary water was great.Great location we will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear amy h

We're delighted you enjoyed you stay and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
banbridge
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

It used to be called the Berkley court and for a time it lost its appeal, new owners have put it back on the map again, it's back where it belongs, on top.
Front of house service was excellent and staff in all areas were very courteous .
Breakfast was excellent and sensibly priced

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear bannmangolfer

Thanks for your kind feedback. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.

Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 12, 2013 via mobile

Now in new ownership it's clearly getting some investment and this can be seen in the better maintenance and across the whole hotel. The staff were charming on arrival and my room was clean tidy and had a very comfy double bed with free water and tea and coffee making facilities. Internet was available but chargeable, I couldn't use my BT Openzone roaming with their partners, main one being Boingo.

The breakfast was included and was better than average for the all in price paid, good fried breakfast and plenty of fresh fruit.

Car parking was plentiful but again charged at 10 euro per day

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear sbz100

Thanks for your feedback. We look forward to your next visit.

Best wishes
Ballsbridge Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jackson, California
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2013

We stayed here while on our week long trip to Ireland. Friends had told us that European hotel rooms are smaller and spartan compared to U.S. hotels. Not so at this hotel. The room furnishings and items available in the room were equal to most U.S. hotels we have stayed in, to include bottled mineral water replinished each day. Tea and coffee (instant coffee, but tasty) in the room as well. We were disappointed that we had to pay for WiFi services. Queen size bed with nightstands, flat screen TV, desk with chair, 2 comfy chairs and table, cloest with ironing board and iron, trouser press. I took photos of the carpets in the lobby with the beautiful Celtic knot patterns. We ate dinner in the restaurant once, a bit too formal for us. We ate in the bar several times, attractive setting, fireplace, flatscreen TVs set to sports but no intrusive sound. We had room service a couple of times, always delivered promptly unlike some hotels we have stayed in. Staff was VERY friendly and helpful, a big plus as travelers in a forgein country. My husband was ill early in our stay, I went to the restaurant to ask for some honey for his tea and they scurried to accomodate me with about a 1/3 cup of honey. Inlcuded breakfast was great, patries, cerelas, eggs, etc. When our tour of New Grange flaked on us, front desk staff worked hard to find other transportation to get us out to the countryside. Pharmacy with helpful staff within a few minutes walking as well as a minimart. (Tip:Bring any over the counter meds you think you could possibly need, products are different in different countries). While not in central Dublin, it is a short distance by public transportation or taxi. Lovely neighborhood. We were very pleased with our stay at this hotel and in Ireland in general. We would recommend it to friends and would stay here again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Tina A

Thanks for your feedback. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards

Des McCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grandview Heights, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013 via mobile

Shared a twin room with sister. Pleasant, but tired as some others have described. Fixed price menu in dining room not impressive. Food in bar better. Beautiful neighborhood, but further out than we needed from City Center. Desk staff very nice and accommodating. Had a bit of scare that we might miss flight back to States when I got trapped on one of the elevators!! They reduced our bill. Last night there were quite a few school kids in hotel, banging/slamming doors and talking loudly. Staff very apologetic. Right down the street from a Dart station. Overall, quite pleasant.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TulaneManagement, General Manager at Clyde Court Hotel, responded to this review, January 15, 2013
Dear Wheatenfool

Thanks for your review and let me apologise for the issue with the lift. Our maintenance team have resolved the problem. I hope you will consider us on your next visit to Dublin.

Kind regards
Des MccCann
General Manager
Clyde Court Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Stayed a the Clyde court hotel with some colleagues from 29th - 31st December. It is a lovely hotel, not too far from everything. The service is great, receptionists were very helpful, the gentlemen n the restaurant were polite and helpful. The bar staff were delightful, recommended places for us to go, a young man named Sean Inparticular was fabulous and delivered great service! Would recommend this hotel to everyone I know! :) Anna-Rebecca.

Room Tip: Go for a junior suite! Relaxing, quite and extremely comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Clyde Court Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clyde Court Hotel

Address: Lansdowne Road | Ballsbridge, Dublin 4, Ireland (Formerly Berkeley Court Hotel)
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#30 Family Hotel in Dublin
#36 Luxury Hotel in Dublin
#42 Business Hotel in Dublin
#44 Romantic Hotel in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Clyde Court Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 4 star Clyde Court Hotel is perfect for both business and leisure guests. Set in Dublin’s most prestigious postcode and only minutes from the city centre, the Clyde Court has been host to many famous celebrities and Heads of State including Nelson Mandela, Frank Sinatra, Madonna, Elton John, and Cher to name but a few. The elegant hotel is comprised of 185 fully air conditioned and spacious guest rooms and can also cater for business conferences and weddings for up to 450 guests. The Clyde restaurant is set in a contemporary space bathed in natural day-light and the food is sourced from reliable local farms. There is a garden area seating up to 30 people and the Clyde Room, located off the restaurant is perfect for a private dinner or to entertain guests or clients. The Clyde Bar is the perfect place to relax after a long day, with its atmospheric high ceilings, plush leather armchairs and floor to ceiling mahogany wall panels. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Clyde Court Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Berkeley Court Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Clyde Court Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.