We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Cliff Town House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Cliff Town House to your Saves list
The Cliff Town House
4.0 of 5 Inn   |   22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #37 of 163 Dublin B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
New Jersey
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

Our last two nights in Ireland were at the Cliff Town House, the reception desk and everyone we saw was simply delightful and helpful....great team work. They were doing a bit of refurbishing and in fact I received an email prior telling us, which is professional and something rarely done today.
The rooms were spacious (though one was small and quickly swapped out for a bigger one) nice touches from the tea set up to the books and the toiletries ~ all first class. The only downside is that they do not have air conditioning, which on most days in Dublin is fine, we happen to be there when the temperatures were in the mid-seventies, so the rooms were warm.
The breakfast was good, though limited, but we had dinner on our last night and it was outstanding (though pricey).
There is a lift but only goes so far, there is still quite a few steps involved and there is someone to take your luggage up and down, but using the steps allows you to enjoy desert.
The location across from St. Stephens Green is perfect for shopping, and seeing the sites, easy walk to Trinity College.
I would recommend The Cliff Townhouse while in Dublin.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at The Cliff Town House, responded to this review, September 24, 2013
Dear Coco#55,

Thank you for your review.

We are a small property but we do our best to assist our guests in every way we can.

Really looking forward to looking after you again on your return visit.

Best Wishes,
Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    76
    49
    20
    18
    6
See reviews for
17
100
3
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2013

We loved the The Cliff Town House! It was so easy to get to from the bus from the airport, it is perfectly located on St. Stephen's Green, the rooms were adorable, and the Irish breakfast in their restaurant was one of the best we had in Ireland! Everything was beautiful and we would return.

The only downsides were that the rooms had old-fashion locks so that you could unlock from both the outside and the inside, and that it's a true town house, so you have to walk stairs to get to your room...not handicap friendly!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floors, facing the green!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at The Cliff Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear AGHnyc,

We are very fortunate to have the Airport bus stop just a few meters away...another guest advantage when staying here in the Cliff Townhouse!

A true Townhouse indeed .... we like our stairs as they keep us all very fit and keep us feeling young ........

Thank you for taking the time to write a review - we appreciate it.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minnesota
Top Contributor
200 reviews 200 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013 via mobile

Very lovely hotel; our room was small but elegantly furnished. There is lift that services 2 floors. Our room was on the back side, very quiet. Absolutely delicious breakfast is included. The restaurant is fabulous. We ate there 2 nights.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at The Cliff Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear snowy_and_sunny,

Thank you for your review - delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay and rate our restaurant so highly.

Can't wait for your return visit, be sure to say hello to me!


Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Stayed on a Friday night in a room on 4th floor looking on to St. Stephen's Green for €175 incl. breakfast. Can't ask for a better location. Breakfast was good, but choice was a bit limited - I didn't notice any cheese(?), though the brown bread was gorgeous. But the friendliness was exceptional - at check-in, at breakfast and at check-out - genuine warmth from all staff who seemed happy at their work! Slight problem with the key to our room was dealt with efficiently. Room itself was spacious and comfortable. People with heavy suitcases might have difficulty with climbing 4 flights of stairs, but I'm sure help would be at hand if needed. We certainly felt we were staying in luxurious surroundings in a well preserved town house. Would definitely stay again and already recommending Cliff Town House to our friends.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at The Cliff Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Weekend-holidaymaker,

Thank you for your recent review.

We appreciate your feedback about our breakfast menu.....we like to try and keep it simple as that way it's consistent for our regular morning guests. On your next visit, do let us know and we can provide a cheese plate for you.....as they say breakfast is the most important meal of the day so we do like to accommodate all requests!

We look forward to your return visit.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kerry ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Spent a night in this beautiful town house located in Stephens green,a perfect location very central.Very nice spacious bedrooms furnished to suit the style of the building but was a little disappointed with the layout (no plug socket near mirror not good for women trying to use Hairdryers).From the minute we entered the restaurant I knew it was going to be a good experience greeted by friendly staff and a beautifully decorated restaurant not over the top but so many natural features that come with listed buildings .I could not give the food anything less than 10 out of 10 ,simple food with a twist bursting with flavour ,(tempura prawns a must).but the icing on the cake was the breakfast it in itself was a dining experience,it would be hard for any 5 star to compete and all served with a smile.I will definitely be back to the Cliff town house for a repeat experience very soon

Room Tip: As with all old listed buildings there is plenty stairs consider this when booking room you would ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at The Cliff Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear lorconroy39,

It was a pleasure to read your review...Thank You!

I know what you mean in relation to the plug sockets ....these old listed buildings are not user friendly when it comes electrical outlets. This item is definitely on our maintenance list for future room refurbishments.

Sean, our Head Chef, was thrilled with your comments too.

Looking forward to meeting you the next time your in Dublin.

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Annapolis, Maryland
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013

Only downfall, no elevator and dragging a huge suitcase up 60+ stairs was a huge pain. But we were aware of that in advance and planned accordingly.

Great small hotel with amazing breakfast. The lady working in the breakfast area was so pleasant and thoughtful. Looked forward to seeing her each morning. We had an early tour one morning and the hotel was kind enough to deliver a breakfast tray at 6am so we wouldnt go hungry.

Clean (but small) rooms. Would definately stay here again if in Dublin.

Room Tip: make sure you pay for the room and breakfast rate. So worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Siobhan_Ryan_13, General Manager at The Cliff Town House, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear ASHMD,

Thank you for your recent review.

I was delighted to pass on your lovely comments to Anne, who is our breakfast waitress.

Don't hesitate to ask for help with luggage on your return visit - we can provide a very fit young gentleman to assist you with this who is more than willing to help.

We look forward to welcoming you on your next trip to Dublin.

Regards,

Siobhan Ryan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hartford, Connecticut
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We had booked the Cliff Townhouse Tuesday and Saturday, April 16 and 21. We pulled up and for some reason they did not have our reservation. While they sorted it out, they offered us a free lunch which was fantastic and elegant. They then came and said they had no room, but they booked us at another hotel, but they upgraded our room to a very, very large two room suite. They also invited us to breakfast on Wednesday, but the hotel we were at had breakfast included. When we came back to Cliff Townhouse on Saturday, they had upgraded our room once again to the best in the hotel. The location is super, the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. The food is incredible. You are in the center of history when you stay here overlooking St. Stephen's Green. The receptionist took us out on the front step and gave us a little history lesson, and even sang us a little song that was part of history. She didn't know that both of us were music teachers, and it was pretty cool. It's a very old fashioned elegant hotel. If you are staying in Dublin, book here.

Room Tip: We had the room directly opposite the "James Joyce" room. It was beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulFinegan, Manager at The Cliff Town House, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Dear Matthew V,

Sorry about the hiccup at the start but I am glad that we did redeem ourselves.
It was Laura that looked after you and gave you the history lesson and the song! Laura has a strong interest in local history and is a wealth of information on Dublin history - she was born in and lives in the city so Dublin is in her blood!
I am delighted that you enjoyed the rest of your stay and all that The Townhouse has to offer.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Kind regards,

Paul Finegan,
Manager,
The Cliff Townhouse.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Cliff Town House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Cliff Town House

Address: 22 St Stephen's Green, Dublin, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > South City Centre
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #37 of 163 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Cliff Town House 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly located Town House with boutique style rooms and wonderful restaurant with great food, superb service and ambiance at great value. Private Dining Facility also available ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Splendia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Priceline so you can book your The Cliff Town House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliff Town House Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Cliff Town House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.