We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic, but pricy!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Rotana Cafe

Rotana Cafe
31 South Richmond Street | Portobello, Dublin, Ireland
0035314759969
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #599 of 1,755 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $13 - $23
Cuisines: Lebanese
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Cork, Ireland
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Fantastic, but pricy!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

If you are looking for a taste that you will never forget, try this restaurant. I was looking for Halal food late night in Dublin and I googled it and was lucky to be near Rotana. Guys are accommodating and helpful and the place is excellent, although pricy for regular dining but you can treat yourself and friends with a dinner here.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

49 reviews from our community

77% Recommend
    16
    22
    4
    6
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Excellent restaurant!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Excellently located restaurant, with extremely polite staff and scrumptious food! I went here for dinner, and really enjoyed it. We went here on a Friday.The restaurant was not extremely busy as we came very early for dinner. It was completely relaxing. I had the chicken strips to start and the Shish Taouk for main course. Have no complaints about either, they were filling, and we definitely left with happy faces!

The only minor detail about eh restaurant was the bathrooms. I would suggest to bring your coat with you, as they were quite cold when we visited. Having said that, I would have no hesitation in coming back again. Beautiful food, and great staff and service, definitely worth it!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“a lovely find”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

Before xmas 2012 I had a lunch at this little un-assuming restaurant, it was the best falafel sandwich I have ever tasted so I decided an evening meal is definitely worth a try so I booked a meal for two on Valentines night.
The food was really delicious.
The staff were very helpful and gracious.
It's also very good value and it's BYOB.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dublin, ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

The BYO option is great & we had high expectations of this place based on other reviews. I have frequented a lot of Lebanese restaurants & to be honest this place did not deliver. The starter mezze was grand but nothing special. The main course of a mixed meat platter was served cold & very dry. The service on the night was not great & we had to search for a member of staff to report our issue. Unsurprisingly we got our food back within 5mins (clearly microwaved!!) & was told by the waiter that the reason our food was cold was due to the "salad & yoghurt" on the same dish - totally ridiculous & basically insulting our intelligence to a degree. Its such a shame but I would never return to this place & would not recommend it either.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great food, great value for money”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Really enjoy going to this restaurant. The staff are attentive but easy going. You can bring you own wine. The food is great, fresh, healthy and tasty. Highly recommended.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rotana Cafe also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Rotana Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rotana Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.