We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Positive opinion but also something negative” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Abigails Hostel

Save Saved
You added Abigails Hostel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Abigails Hostel
7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Temple Bar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 89 Specialty lodging in Dublin
Modena, Italy
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Positive opinion but also something negative”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

Nice place, in the very centre of Dublin, at a good price, without locker in dorm, but near the reception are available personal lockers for few euros, or a collective locked room. A big kitchen and a large hub. But the room wasn't the cleanest I ever found....

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

257 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    77
    119
    38
    11
    12
See reviews for
9
26
68
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Halifax, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

This was the first hostel I stayed in in Ireland so I wasnt too sure what to expect. It was a fairly basic hostel. I stayed in a 12 person dorm. It had two shower rooms and two bathrooms. The room itself was very large, but the shower and bathroom were pretty small and hard to change in.

I stayed at Abigails for 2 weeks. The shower was not cleaned once in those two weeks. However the bathrooms were cleaned everyday. Defiantly a party hostel and very large. If youre looking for a smaller more intimate hostel this is not the place.

Having said that, it was situated perfectly, nice and close to everything and right on the river. This would be a good place to stay for a night or two but not long term.
The front desk was incredibly helpful which was a life saver and they were very quick to make recommendations for me.

Breakfast was nice, coffee, tea, orange Juice, 2 cold cereals, toast, yogurt and hard boiled eggs.

It was an average stay, but not sure if I'll return.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clifton, New Jersey
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2013

The only thing really going for Abigails is the price. The staff was so-so... some much more friendly than others. Kitchen was off limits past 9PM (which was VERY annoying - what if you wanted to microwave something to eat before bed?). Very loud and rowdy at night, and it got VERY hot in the rooms, but as soon as you opened the window you wouldn't be able to sleep due to the noise. Overall, a very average hostel.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

I didn't actually stay in this hostel but I must share my frustrating complaint!

As the cancellation policy of the hostel I cancelled my booking 15 days prior to departure. I got a confirmation from the well known website (Booking.com) that my booking was cancelled free of charge. After all the hotel would only charge you for a late cancellation 2 days prior to departure.

Despite that they charged my credit card and when I contacted the hotel about this they didn't even respond!

I guess when you see the high review scores you would think that a hostel like this would take their responsibility but apparently they don't.

Wouldn't want to be the one staying here and getting some kind of trouble, the hostel policy regarding to correcting their own mistakes (or maybe fraud on purpose??) is simply awful!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A-Star-HostelsDublin, Guest Relations Manager at Abigails Hostel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Hi Robby,

I hope by now you have received our email and know that we refunded your card last week.

When a booking is canceled with booking.com we normally receive a fax from them to cancel. Unfortunately on this occasion we didn't receive one, as happens very, very rarely. After this your card was charged as a no show. Upon seeing this incorrect charge you wrote us an email to notify us of this.

Unfortunately we have had a problem with our emails for the last few weeks whereby any emails being forwarded were not being sent. We had received your email and forwarded it to our General manager to refund the incorrect charge. Only last week did we discover the problem with our emails and discover the unsent emails. As soon as we saw your email, we immediately refunded the charge to your card.

I hope you can understand and appreciate that this was obviously a just very unfortunate succession of mishaps and that judging by our reviews and rating, this was clearly just an isolated and unfortunate incident.

We apologise sincerely for any inconvenience caused and would hope that you would stay with us if you visit Dublin in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013

The location of this hostel is excellent! An easy walk to tons of attractions and public transport.
I stayed in a private three-bed/bath for four days. The room was great with our own bathroom and shower. There was a bunk bed and a full size bed on the side. The bunks were comfy but the extra bed was pretty terrible (of course I called that bed, and boy did I regret it!)

The reception area and lounge are perfect for travelers. The staff was friendly, helpful, and knowledgable and the lounge is big and open with plenty of seating, pay as you go computers, and private lockers.

Breakfast is included in the price and, after having been to many hostels, is a pretty great breakfast of toast, cereals, yogurt, coffee, tea, juice, boiled eggs, and fruit. Definitely a great start to each day.

I definitely recommend this hostel to travelers! Great location and perfect for what you are paying!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

I stayed here for two nights over a weekend with my friend, in an 8 bed female dorm and was very impressed.

The location is brilliant, right next to the River Liffey and Temple Bar so you can walk everywhere and get home safely after a night out.

The room was nice and clean, as was the bed and linen. Bunk bed was comfy enough with its own light and plug socket. Having an en suite was good too.

Breakfast is a typical hostel breakfast - toast, hard boiled egg, cereal, juice, tinned fruit and yogurt, tea/coffee. I was perfectly happy with this!

Good points
- Location, location, location!
- Free breakfast was good
- Nice big communal area
- Clean, ensuite room

Bad points
- Lack of storage space in the room for bags, no locker

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
x
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

This place is perfectly situated for sightseeing, going out in the Temple Bar quarter etc. My room (including the bathroom!!!) was clean, the beds are reasonably comfortable. Staff was friendly & helpful. I appreciated the various possiblities of storing luggage. If budget travel is your thing (shared rooms) and you are prepared for the unknown (in my case, two guys snoring heavily) this place is an excellent option. Bring earplugs, the area is rather noisy.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Abigails Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigails Hostel

Address: 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 Specialty lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently converted from a hotel, Abigail's Hostel is located in Temple Bar, overlooking the River Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge.All our rooms have private bathrooms, central heating and hairdryers. Our reception is open 24/7 and our friendly staff are happy to help you with tourism information or anything you might need to enjoy your visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Priceline, Booking.com, HostelBookers and BookingOdigeoWL so you can book your Abigails Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigails Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.