We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Abigails Hostel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Abigails Hostel to your Saves list
Abigails Hostel
2.0 of 5 Hostel   |   7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland (Temple Bar)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Cordoba, Argentina
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

We got a private room with a canal view. The room was very comfortable, we had our own bathroom, a wardrobe and a little table. Some of the power plugs didn't work, so we had to disconnect the lamp to charge our cellphones. The room and bathroom weren't clean every day, they just take out the trash, they didn't gave us towels either, we used our own.
The staff was very helpful every time we asked for directions. Breakfast is self served, there is coffee, milk, cereals, bread, toaster, lots of things... it's ok for free breakfast.
The location is great, it's in the middle of temple bar and O'connel Street.
It also has an elevator which is great if you have big luggage.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    155
    51
    12
    12
See reviews for
12
34
90
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

Stayed here Easter weekend 2013 with one of my friends. Great location, right next to all the bars in Temple bar - so easy to stumble home to! Rooms were generally clean, we stayed in a room of 10 so it wasn't necessarily the hostels mess but our own! Bathroom was a decent size.
Staff are great - and yes as another reviewer noticed, eye candy is fully supplied!
Absolutely fantastic for what we paid! And breakfast was great too... couldn't complain!

Room Tip: They do have an all female room which is good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
São José dos Campos, São Paulo, Brazil
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

The location is great if you plan to visit the city center and the pubs of Temple Bar, you can just walk around. The cleanliness of the rooms, especially the bathrooms could be better, but not much of a problem. The staff is excellent, friendly and willing to give information. I recommend.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2013

All the staff here are hot irish men, stay here purely for the eye candy. but seriously, this hostel is great!! everything is clean and comfy, location is great. just beware london pickpocketers, not from abigails, just in general!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013

Rooms are very clean, beds are very good!, staff is very friendly and helpful, location is perfect!, the paintings on the inside walls of the building add to the experience - worth photographing! Lovely place! I will definitely return.

90% of the people using the kitchen are spoilt brats, teen pigs, ill-mannered that neither clean after using, nor even let others know they're finished because they lease pots and pans in the stove with food. Such a pitty.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not facing the river on a higher floor :)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

It is in a fantastic central location that is hard to beat! The staff were welcoming and friendly and I had a good bunch of people to stay with

I think Abigails Hostel would have been an amazing hostel in its prime. Unfortunately the building seems a little tired and in need of a major uplift. While we were making our beds a hairball fell out of one set of sheets and tissues out of two others...In the common area the tables were always filthy (usually egg shell) and the couches need a bit of maintenance. The bathroom in the shared mixed dorm was pretty unclean with mould all underneath the shower grate and hair everywhere. But that is what you expect from a budget hostel I guess.

The only thing that REALLY annoyed me was the silly key system. We were given 1 key between the 4 of us. Which is fine. When you leave, you leave the key at reception. That all worked really well, except when you go out and return at different times. The key is given to the first person and then the door has to be opened by the receptionist for the other 3. The receptionist told myself that they would be 'expecting me'. I don't think after a few pints that anyone is 'expecting' anyone once they are asleep. So not only was I made to walk up to my room and knock on the door. I had to go back down to reception to get him to open it for me. (which he had to do 2 more times!) They would really cut out so much work if they just had a different key system and not a silly slip of paper!

All-in-all I had a good stay in the heart of Dublin!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Badajoz
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

I've been to several hostels in Spain and Portugal but this hostel in Dublin was disappointing. We paid 26 euros for a female dorm and our first night a party was brought into our room and a male ended up passing out in one of the beds. A staff member came up to try to remove him but wasn't successful. Breakfast was normal for a hostel. The sheets were dirty, full of hair (like we had seen in other reviews), the key system was strange (you have to keep track of a piece of paper to get back in), the hostel seemed very old and lacked personality or design. The only thing that was great was the location. I recommend looking around for other hostels outside of this area because Dublin is very small.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Abigails Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Abigails Hostel

Address: 7/9 Aston Quay, Dublin 2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin > Temple Bar
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Abigails Hostel 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently converted from a hotel, Abigail's Hostel is located in Temple Bar, overlooking the River Liffey and Ha'penny Bridge.All our rooms have private bathrooms, central heating and hairdryers. Our reception is open 24/7 and our friendly staff are happy to help you with tourism information or anything you might need to enjoy your visit to Dublin. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your Abigails Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Abigails Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Abigails Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.