We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wish it was here!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dax Restaurant

Dax Restaurant
23 Pembroke Street Upper | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 676 1494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 1,845 Restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $28 - $43
Cuisines: European, French, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Awarded "Best Restaurant in Dublin" in the Irish Restaurant Awards 2014. Located just off Fitzwilliam Square in the heart of Georgian Dublin, the award winning Dax Restaurant is one of Ireland's premier places to dine. The Dax menu uses only the freshest seasonal Irish and continental produce. Our commitment to healthy fine dining is experienced in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Dax is the perfect location for social or business dining.
Vienna, Austria
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Wish it was here!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2013

DAX is the kind of restaurant you want near your own home, excellent food (a creative chef) and service - pride of ownership - and a nice atmosphere for both casual eating, and more formal events. We recommend it highly!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    199
    53
    10
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
bristol
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Continuing Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been a patron of Dax for the last two and a half years and the service ambience and food is the best I have found in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Fantastic beautifully presented food with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience in the restaurant which is intimate and romantic. The restaurant was very busy when we visited on a Friday night which was quite loud with everyone chatting and the sound bouncing of the walls as it is in a cellar but once you settle in, you don’t notice any longer! The wine list is very expensive but as other reviewers have stated, it is best to match excellent wine with excellent food. Overall the food and service was top notch and I would return again for a special occasion

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in Ireland. The service was superb as was the food, the wine is very expensive but if you are going to this restaurant you should match the food with a good wine. I really enjoyed the atmosphere, it was buzzing with happy clientele. I would definitely return here for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I had a meal at the Dax Restaurant one evening this week, my wife recommended the Dax as she and her friends had eaten here previously.

It is a very nice intimate restaurant with a very small bar area with tables arranged in such a way as to offer reasonable privacy.

The menu and wine list offer plenty of choice to cater to the fussiest of clients.

The starters were first class, beautifully presented and prepared.
The Mains (Halibut for my wife & Rib Eye for me) were again very good indeed.
Deserts were also beautiful and made in house.

The staff are without exception friendly, polite and most efficient.

All in all a very pleasant and enjoyable meal, looking forward to our next visit to Dax Dublin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dax Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dax Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.