We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Continuing Perfection” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dax Restaurant

Dax Restaurant
23 Pembroke Street Upper | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 676 1494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #17 of 1,845 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $43 - $83
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Awarded "Best Restaurant in Dublin" in the Irish Restaurant Awards 2014. Located just off Fitzwilliam Square in the heart of Georgian Dublin, the award winning Dax Restaurant is one of Ireland's premier places to dine. The Dax menu uses only the freshest seasonal Irish and continental produce. Our commitment to healthy fine dining is experienced in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Dax is the perfect location for social or business dining.
bristol
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Continuing Perfection”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

I have been a patron of Dax for the last two and a half years and the service ambience and food is the best I have found in Dublin.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    255
    69
    15
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Fantastic beautifully presented food with excellent service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

My partner and I thoroughly enjoyed our dining experience in the restaurant which is intimate and romantic. The restaurant was very busy when we visited on a Friday night which was quite loud with everyone chatting and the sound bouncing of the walls as it is in a cellar but once you settle in, you don’t notice any longer! The wine list is very expensive but as other reviewers have stated, it is best to match excellent wine with excellent food. Overall the food and service was top notch and I would return again for a special occasion

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
38 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fantastic food and brilliant service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

This was one of the best dining experiences I have had in Ireland. The service was superb as was the food, the wine is very expensive but if you are going to this restaurant you should match the food with a good wine. I really enjoyed the atmosphere, it was buzzing with happy clientele. I would definitely return here for a special occasion.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin Ireland
Level Contributor
47 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Very Pleasant Evening”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I had a meal at the Dax Restaurant one evening this week, my wife recommended the Dax as she and her friends had eaten here previously.

It is a very nice intimate restaurant with a very small bar area with tables arranged in such a way as to offer reasonable privacy.

The menu and wine list offer plenty of choice to cater to the fussiest of clients.

The starters were first class, beautifully presented and prepared.
The Mains (Halibut for my wife & Rib Eye for me) were again very good indeed.
Deserts were also beautiful and made in house.

The staff are without exception friendly, polite and most efficient.

All in all a very pleasant and enjoyable meal, looking forward to our next visit to Dax Dublin.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
65 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent lunch offering”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Had a wonderful lunch here on a special afternoon last week. Food was excellent; I had quail to start (truly delicious) and slow cooked lamb for main. Himself had the quail also and blossom which was superb. Portions looked a little small but were actually the perfect size. Strawberry shortcake with pistachio ice cream was AMAZING! Only comment is the lack of non alcoholic drinks, such as elderflower or homemade lemonade or something other than coke. I'm expecting and sick of looking at himself drinking wine while I'm stuck with fizzy water:-(. Anyway a wonderful meal, it's always been consistently good, I rate it as one of Dublins best.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dax Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dax Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.