We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Possibly the best food in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Dax Restaurant

Dax Restaurant
23 Pembroke Street Upper | Dublin 2, Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 676 1494
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #15 of 1,995 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $44 - $84
Cuisines: French, European, Contemporary, Healthy
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Doing business, Special occasions, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: Awarded "Best Restaurant in Dublin" in the Irish Restaurant Awards 2014. Located just off Fitzwilliam Square in the heart of Georgian Dublin, the award winning Dax Restaurant is one of Ireland's premier places to dine. The Dax menu uses only the freshest seasonal Irish and continental produce. Our commitment to healthy fine dining is experienced in an informal and relaxed atmosphere. Dax is the perfect location for social or business dining.
Kilkenny, Ireland
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Possibly the best food in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013

Apart from the location as well as the food the value is just about right at €24 for a 2 course lunch and €28 for 3 courses. I would certainly go there once if possible and book in advance. The location is excellent and the staff are very nice.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

322 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    236
    64
    13
    7
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, New South Wales, Australia
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“French cuisine in Dublin”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Went with my Mum and brother while in Dublin for a long weekend.
Really enjoyed the atmosphere and had a great table in a corner nook.
Service was really good, understated attentive rather than too much.
Food was lovely and presented really well.
Huge wine list of mostly old world wines.
Only complaint is that I had the steak and they didn't have any steak knives. In fact when I asked for one, the waiter (not our main waiter as he was fabulous!) told me it was so tender I shouldn't need a steak knife. However it wasn't and that was why I asked for one. That didn't ruin our experience and I managed to hack away at my steak, but not something I expect from a top restaurant.
Overall, a lovely place to spend an evening while in Dublin.

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangor, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Exceptional!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013 via mobile

Food was amazing, flavours were exceptional, service faultless, relaxed atmosphere. We had a lovely night!

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
260 reviews 260 reviews
181 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
129 helpful votes 129 helpful votes
“Bring Back the Gamay Beaujolais!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2013

I love Dax, but was so disappointed to find out that they weren't carrying the Gamay Beaujolais anymore. I loved going there for a late night drink of this delicious sparkling red. I have never had it anywhere else in Dublin - bring it back, Dax!!!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DCM1982, Guest Relations Manager at Dax Restaurant, responded to this review, April 18, 2013
From Olivier at Dax Restaurant: We are sorry but not all wines are available at all times of the year. The sparkling Beaujolais is only made in small quantities compared with commercial table wines; however. it will be returning to the menu when we get the next shipment due in June.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Delightful food with perfect service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I were in Dublin today and had read on TA about Dax. We weren't disappointed! We had two courses at 24E. Great value for the quality of taste and care in each dish. All the food was obviously made with attention to detail and balance of flavour.

The service was gentle and friendly, never overbearing but expertly attentive.

I'll be back again and will be recommending it to my friends!

Thank for a great dining experience.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dax Restaurant also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Dax Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dax Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.