We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cosy” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Farm Restaurants

Farm Restaurants
3 Dawson Street | Dublin 2 beside Trinity College ,and same stree as Lord Mayors mansion, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 1 671 8654
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #169 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $17 - $45
Cuisines: Irish, Vegetarian, Family Fare, Central European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Doing business, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Dessert, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: FARM restaurants are Irish owned, family run restaurants in the heart of Dublin, Ireland. We opened Farm, 3 Dawson Street in 2007, near to Trinity College, the Lord Mayor’s Mansion House, Grafton Street, Dáil Éireann (the Irish Parliament) and St. Stephen’s Green. Farm, 133 Upper Leeson Street opened in the Summer of 2012, and is also a short and lovely walk from St Stephen’s Green. Farm 133 Leeson Street is a Georgian building with lovely views of Christ Church, Leeson Park, and close proximity to some of Dublin’s finest residential areas and the beautiful Grand Canal.We love Irish food and ingredients. Our menus take inspirations from some far-flung destinations, but we source locally as many of our ingredients as possible, and a large proportion of our meat, vegetables, and other ingredients are organic – free from GM, artificial additives, fertilisers, growth promoters and herbicides. We believe that this is better for your health, better for the environment, better for farmers, and more delicious! We display certificates from all of our organic produce suppliers. Many gluten-free and vegetarian options are available.We are delighted that many of our customers are regulars – from business-people who want more than a mass-produced salad and sandwich for lunch, to couples lingering over a romantic meal, from families with high-chairs and high-spirits to old-friends re-uniting in Dublin after years apart. All are welcome at Farm restaurants.We are pleased to accept reservations. Farm 133 Upper Leeson Street has a private dining-room available for up to 30 people. Farm Gift Vouchers are welcomed.Farm, 3 Dawson Street, Dublin 2, is open from 11am until 11pm.Farm, 133 Upper Leeson Street, Dublin 4 open from 11am until 11pm and offers a take-away/delivery menu and, at the weekend, a brunch menu full of favourites.
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Cosy”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant is very cosy and warm, and the service is charming. I ate here for dinner with some friends. Had the Asian salad to start, and the fish pie. Both delicious- my only quibble is too much cheese on the pie but that is a matter of personal taste. Very good coffee and an excellent glass of a red Chilean blend wine. The bill was around 38€- a little pricey but this place is so reliable and such a nice space that it's a fair price.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

589 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    301
    191
    59
    20
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
SILVER SPRING, MARYLAND
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great dinner in a great city”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

The Leeson Street location was recommended by the staff at Number 31, the B&B where we stayed in Dublin (Number 31 booked the table for us). Our meal was wonderful - we both had the fish pie which was filled with salmon and haddock and topped with a potato/apple crust. There was a bit of confusion about our dessert -- we ordered the Farm Surprise - which was delicious, but because of the delay in getting it to our table the cost was deducted from our bill. We didn't notice a delay, as we were enjoying the ambiance of the restaurant and reflecting on the great entree. The staff were helpful and courteous. Dublin has many fine place to eat, and the Farm is certainly on that list.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
“Very tasty, well worth a visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

We booked Farm on Dawson street late on a Saturday afternoon after deciding to go out for a meal at the last minute. Not having an inclination where to go, I did a Google search for Dublin Restaurants and Farm came up near top so not having been before we dicided to try.
When I rang to book, the girl taking my booking did say our table would be near the door, but not being familiar this didn't mean much to me (however I would ask for a table down the back in future - if available).
We arrived to be shown to our seats which appear to be a converted waiting area where 3/4 tables have been fit in. This leaves very little room for people who are waiting to be shown to their tables or chance people calling in for a table - of which there was many, most getting turned away as the restaurant was very busy.
We found the location interesting watching the people come and go, but it must make the table servers jobs more difficult. Our waitress was extreamly helpful and a very happy demeanor. She was able to give good assistance on the menu and checked on us a number of occassions throughout the service.
We found the food very tasty and reasonably priced.
Our only downside on the evening came at the end. We asked another waiter for our bill and when it arrived, I noticed an error - but in our favour. A main course had been ommitted. Believing in Bad Karma following us, we brought the error to the attention of the waiter.
Not understanding that the error was in our favour, initially the waiter was quick to say the bill was correct. But once clarified, he just took the bill and said he would fix it. I would have expected more thanks for bringing the error to their attention.

All in all though, we would return!

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lurgan, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fresh tasty food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

from outside looks small and quiaubt, but inside its much bigger and very modern decor. We arrived for food on a Wednesday and ate off the early bird. Absolutely delicious, and fresh tasting. I had the fish pie, piping hot and full of fresh fish. I was stuffed but had to finish it. Also had the Farm Mess to finish and I was not disappointed, meringue , ice cream and fruit not to be missed.

Place was busy so id advise booking, and service was attentive. Real home cooked feel and good choice on the menue

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Smyrna Beach, Florida
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“High class, Top shelf Experience.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013

Early Bird dinner for two was around $80, but well worth it considering the high quality of food and generous portions. White table cloths and attentive friendly waitresses made the experience pleasurable. I had the best chicken wings as an appetizer that I have ever eaten. The cottage Pie was large and tasty.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Farm Restaurants also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Farm Restaurants? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Farm Restaurants, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.