We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bank on College Green

The Bank on College Green
20-22 College Green, Dublin Dublin 2, Ireland (South City Centre)
+353 (1) 677 0677
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #22 of 1,755 restaurants in Dublin
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Bar scene, Large groups, Doing business, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
“Not to be missed”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

Booked The Bank for our first evening in Dublin, we were not disappointed.
The setting is spectacular and the service and food were excellent.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

706 reviews from our community

90% Recommend
    411
    226
    51
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Nice decor”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

The Bank looks very posh. A good seating area in the bar and a small restaurant upstairs which looks down towards the bar. There could be more televisions around the bar for sporting occasions as there are not many. Overall would defo recommend this bar.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Do not miss this one!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

A magnificent setting like no other. Busy but attentive. Ate downstairs in pub area, great mussels and nice oxtail stew. Decent selection of wines, great selection of whiskey. Excellent welcoming and service. Do not miss dropping by for a drink at least, as you will be blown away. Prices are surprisingly reasonable.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2013

Booked a meal here on our recent visit to Dublin. Told there were two sittings and we had to go for the 6.30pm one, they needed our table back by 8.15pm for the next one. What a wonderful building! As a bank it must have been impressive enough, but as a restaurant it was great! We were seated on the balcony so had a good view all round, we even had a pianist playing the whole time, which really added to the atmosphere. The food itself was very good without being exceptional. Would definitely recommend a visit here - you can come in just for a drink.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cave Creek, Arizona
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Excellent Food, Service, Atmosphere, and Price!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Wow!!! Excellent experience... The food was great. I ordered the half roasted chicken and was amazed with the great taste. The dessert was great too. My waitress was super friendly and quick on her feet. She knew her menu very well and her recommendation was great. My food came out quickly and the presentation was beautiful. Main entree + plus dessert and drink for about 22.00 euros. Not bad considering this was the dinner menu. I will go back again!!!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bank on College Green also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Bank on College Green? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bank on College Green, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.