We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Get what you pay for” 3 of 5 stars
Review of The Holyhead Hostel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Holyhead Hostel to your Saves list
The Holyhead Hostel
42 Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #44 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Get what you pay for”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2014

Did not expect any more or less. If you are looking for a cheap place to stay in a pretty great location, can't be beat. The pub across the street has some great live music! You can easily walk to pretty much all the major attractions, and the Dublin Airport Bus drops you off and picks you up almost directly in front of the building.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    29
    18
    12
    13
See reviews for
7
38
11
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

Obviously this is not a five star hotel, but I would definitely give five stars for the cleanliness and friendliness. My boyfriend and I stayed in comfortable bunk beds (the double was taken) with a sink and small mirror in the room. The location is perfect for easy access to the airport and all of Dublin's attractions. The owner was lovely and very helpful. The only small issue I have was that the toilet was across the hall and round the corner. Other than this the Holyhead was incredible value and the best hostel I have stayed in yet!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with BudgetPlaces

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2014 via mobile

This hostel is nestled right in downtown Dublin. It is a 2 min walk from the bus and train station. The staff are super nice and our room was clean and secure. There are a ton of little restaurants and shops all around and all the major sights are within walking distance. We would suggest this hostel to anyone.

Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Turin, Italy
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The rooms are quite nice and clean, the guy at the reception, Luca, is very helpful and always smiling. The position is perfect, only three minute walking from temple bar but prices are not so cheap for what u get (shared room with shared wc and shower)

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

It is an inexpensive place to stay. It was very basic, which was fine - if only it was cleaner. We had a private room with a shared bathroom (toilet in one room, shower in another). The shower was a little yucky. The toilet was difficult to flush. The big issue for me though was that I was really allergic to our room. There was a HUGE amount of dust on the drapes. SO much. SO allergic. We tried to open / close them as little as possible to avoid getting the dust everywhere. I needed to buy allergy pills.
That said, the staff seemed friendly, and it is a really central location. We walked everywhere.
Bring earplugs! Or go across the street to where the music is playing.
If you don't have much money, or any dust allergies, and you are there to party, it could be ok.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2013

This was a very BASIC hotel with no facilities whatsoever.the bed was old and worn with a matress that was as flat as a pancake.the springs had sprung and were trying there best to infiltrate in a place you really wouldn't want them.the room itself was crampt and had not had a deep clean for a long time,with dusty skirting boards and window frames.i know it was a budget hotel,but you would at least expect sme basic cleanliness.the plug sockets did nt work correctly,the freee wifi did not work on the top floor where we were staying,the shower was so bad i made the decision not to use for fear of coming out dirtier than i went in.the sink in the room ( 7 ) had a crack in it.
The only good thing i could comment on was the i presume manager who was rather nice to talk to,on the one and only occasion i saw somebody on the front desk.

Room Tip: For a good room,find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colchester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We were having a short in-expensive holiday in Dublin and wanted somewhere cheap to stay and the Holyhead was one of the cheapest we could find. And considering the price it had everything we wanted, the room was clean with modern decor on the walls, quite basic facilities but it was all we needed. It is in a perfect location as it is just off of O' Connell St and 30 secs away from the airlink bus stop. When we first arrived the man running the place greeted us and gave us a map and marked off loads of good places to go in Dublin and showed us where everything was on the map which was really useful. Overall it was everything we needed, nothing fancy but perfect as a budget hostel. The only reason I haven't given it 5 stars is because the toilet moved when you sat on it which I didn't really like however I can't fault how clean the toilet and shower were as they were fine.

Room Tip: We had a room that was at the back of the building and it was very quiet, couldn't hear the road...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Holyhead Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Holyhead Hostel

Address: 42 Gardiner Street, Dublin Dublin 1, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 89 Specialty Lodging in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of Dublin's oldest accommodations, right in the heart of the city! The best of Dublin is just a few minutes away from our front door: O'Connell street is around the corner, Trinity College and the Grafton Street area right across the Liffey river. Walk 10 minutes and find yourself enjoying a Guinness in the famous Temple Bar district. The Holyhead offers simple but clean and affordable rooms in a warm and easy-going atmosphere, 24h hot showers, free wifi - and kind staff ready to assist you! The Holyhead is located beside the Central Bus Station (Shuttle to/from the airport every 10min) and Conolly Railway Station: you have the whole of Ireland at your feet. Accommodation: All of our rooms are private, with a sink. Toilets and Showers are shared. Please note that our Twin, Triple and Family/Friends rooms are a mix of Singles, Doubles, and Bunk beds. 2 minutes walk away from the spire, and 1 minute walk away from Busaras station. Direction: How to find us? - Taxi, cost 15 to 20€ - Aircoach to O'Connell Street, cost 7€ one way or 12€ return. - Airlink (747 or 748) to Busaras Bus Station, cost 6€ one way or 10€ return. - Dublin buses 14 & 16 a to O'Connell Street, cost only 2.30€ one way.From the Spire on O'Connell Street, walk on Talbot street until you reach Gardiner Street on your left. We are just at the corner! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, HostelWorld, HostelBookers and Odigeo so you can book your The Holyhead Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Holyhead Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Holyhead Hostel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.