We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'm going back” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lombard Townhouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Lombard Townhouse to your Saves list
The Lombard Townhouse
4.0 of 5 Guest house   |   44 Pearse Street/1 Lombard Street, Dublin D2, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #58 of 162 Dublin B&B and Inns
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“I'm going back”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013 via mobile

I found the location of the townhouse to be right where I need it, the rooms where clean and spacious, the pub had a good atmosphere and aswell as good food... I'm returning to Ireland soon and intend on staying here again

  • Stayed February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    61
    32
    10
    9
See reviews for
27
64
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

Was back in Dublin visiting friends and decided to stay here as it was in a good location. The reviews seemed alright and it was a good price. Well to put it bluntly it was awful this is the first bad review of a place I have given maybe I've been lucky but the bed was uncomfortable the windows are only single glazing so you can hear everything at night, all of that was not great but acceptable what was really terrible was the service!

I have never encountered a group up to the manager that were actually out and out rude to you. A friend and I decided to have dinner one afternoon the food was awful, overpriced and again the staff were rude, unhelpful and on occasion a bit short with us, that was before we had even talked to them. I am never going back it actually put a dampener on what should have been a great weekend catching up with friends. AVOID AT ALL COSTS!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013 via mobile

Hotel was clean but although the radiator was on all the time it was still a bit cold in winter. However it was modern, clean and with a great shower. Surprisingly for Dublin though the staff were less than helpful and friendly and disappointingly we could not buy food after 6.00pm.

Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2012

Hotel was ideally located however the bedrooms only had single glazed windows which meant the room was noisy, cleaner didn't knock our door before entering our room (unprofessional), food wasn't great

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ludlow, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012

We were in town to see an event at the O2, and chose to stay here because it is conveniently located between the O2 (a 20 minute walk away) and the city centre (about 10 minutes by foot - far enough to be away from some of the livelier street action). The room was nice and big, the beds were comfy, everything was tidy, and the shower was probably the best hotel shower either of us has ever experienced. I was a little concerned about sleeping over a pub - but we never heard a thing. If we are ever back in Dublin, this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marblehead, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012 via mobile

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The staff was tremendous (especially Anna & Martin), the rooms were spacious and clean, and the beds large for Europe.

We ate in the pub several times and the food was very good and a great value. The staff always made time to help us and gave us great insights as to what to see & where to buy things.

The location was fabulous as we walked everywhere, and is exceptional if you're attending an event at the Convention Centre and want to be able to walk, as well as have a 15 minute stroll to the Temple Bar area.

We would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

If you cant afford to stay closer to Dublin Center stay here. There is a pub downstairs, trinity is close if your coming from the airport the bus will drop you there. The room was really nice, however there was no welcome and it is pretty far from most Dublin attractions. The check in time is strict however they will hold your bags for you. All in all clean and very comfortable room. Simpel check in and check out. And for the price and the location I would stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lombard Townhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lombard Townhouse

Address: 44 Pearse Street/1 Lombard Street, Dublin D2, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Leinster > County Dublin > Dublin
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #58 of 162 B&Bs / Inns in Dublin
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lombard Townhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lombard Townhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lombard Townhouse Hotel Dublin

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lombard Townhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.