We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best wine bar in Dublin” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Olesya's Wine Bar

Olesya's Wine Bar
18 Exchequer Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01 672 4087
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #523 of 1,832 Restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: Mediterranean, European, Tapas, Wine Bar, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups, Dining on a budget, Doing business
Dining options: Lunch, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Galway, Ireland
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Best wine bar in Dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

My wife and I always visit Oleysa's when we are in Dublin. Great wine list, good food and knowledgable staff. Would recommend this place to everyone!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    54
    45
    13
    6
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely place, great wine”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

I was in Olesya's twice: one evening with my husband and then one Sunday afternoon with a friend: both time, I found the place really pleasant!
In both occasions we had wine and a platter of food: mixed cured meat once and cheese the other time. They were really nice and generous in size, especially the huge meat platter! The wine list is extensive and the quality high: ask their lovely staff for advise if you can't decide, they are helpful and always happy to help!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cork, Ireland
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Pleasant and relaxed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2013

Stopped here for dinner as we liked the looked of the place, and were not disappointed.

I had wild mushroom risotto for starter and seabass with peppers and olives for main, both were simple and unpretentious but very tasty, the risotto was cooked just right for my taste, creamy in texture and well seasoned and the seabass dish was light and refreshing. My husband had pate and confit duck, and he gave thumbs up for both. Early Bird deal was also pretty good value.

The wine selection was quite good, lots of options by the glass, and this would be a great place to spend an evening with friends, sharing cheese and meat platters and tasting different wines.

The service was friendly and professional, but I did feel a bit sorry for the waiter who was working alone - as the place started to fill up it was getting hard for him to keep up with everything, despite his best efforts.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Highly recommended from a regular Dublin Visitor.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have been going to Olesya's every now and again for about 6 years now. Its lovely to sit with a glass of wine from the extensive list available and just watch the hussel and bussel of Exchequer Street go by. i have been there for girly drinks and sharing pates of whch the mixed platter was always exceptional, for romantic dates and sometimes even engaging abet wine fueled conversations that last into the night. The thing about Olesya is that it suits so many situations. In the winter the bar is cosy, its rich colour scheme inviting and warm and in the summer months the glass shutters open up to let you take in the busy street outside from a comfortable distance. Ive never sat downstairs and prefer a table at the window. Tamara is an engaging and welcoming hostess, knowledgeable and warm while never intrusive, a true professional. The bar is open late and service is prompt. Prices are very reasonable expecially given the variety available and the location. Olesya is certainly not a place to avoid, on the contrary id urge anyone to actively seek it out and guve it a try. I assure you you wont be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“avoid”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

went here a few times and ordered the cured meat platter which was usually nice. however, the last time i was here we got obviously old salami ... tasting bad and had this weird colour.. after talking to the waiter/manager we were told this was the way the salami is suppose to be. I told him that we had this before and never got such bad salami... the excuse was its supposed to be like that and thats it.... try and avoid ... there are better places

  • Visited June 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olesya's Wine Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Olesya's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olesya's Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.