We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice atmosphere” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Olesya's Wine Bar

Olesya's Wine Bar
18 Exchequer Street, Dublin, Ireland (South City Centre)
01 672 4087
Website
Update restaurant details
Ranked #385 of 1,755 restaurants in Dublin
Cuisines: European, Mediterranean, Tapas, Eastern European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Large groups, Doing business, Outdoor seating, Special occasions, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Reservations, Late Night
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Ottawa Valley, Canada
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
“Very nice atmosphere”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

We stopped in for a glass of wine after having had a disappointing meal elsewhere and were pleasantly surprised by this place. Lovely decor, very peaceful and cozy. We ended up having a bottle of Lebanese wine (who knew?!) and it was fantastic. The person working suggested we try it and we were not disappointed. They have a fantastic selection of wines. We had a peek at the menu and it looked quite nice. The prices are not cheap however this is one of those special occasion restaurants that you go to when you want the meal & wine to be perfect. If we lived in Dublin, this would be our restaurant for those special times in our life.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

82% Recommend
    41
    30
    6
    4
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2013

My boyfriend and I enjoyed a lovely meal here for his birthday.
The service was very good and the atmosphere was warm and friendly. The wine selection was extensive and caters for all tastes and budgets. We enjoyed a very generous and very tasty meat and cheese platter whch was perfectly complimented by the delicious wine. I'm looking forward to my next visit already!

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Nice place for a glass of wine & late snack”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2013

We visited Olesya's after the theatre on Thursday night. We got there at close to 10pm but received a warm welcome even at that late hour. We had two starters & shared a Ribeye steak for main (they had no problem about us sharing unlike many restaurants). Stake was cooked to perfection. Friendly service and a really extensive wine list catering for all tastes & pockets. The ambience was difficult to judge as there were few customers while we were there (it was a really cold, wet and stormy March night and there were few about!). I liked that they did not rush us even though they probably wanted to clean up. We will definitely be back.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 20, 2013

My husband and I returned to Ireland again this year, and we were on the hunt to find, "that great place we stopped in last year, that had such a great selection of wine, and the delectable cheese plate.." We'll, I'm happy to report after a few days in Temple Bar, we found it again! This time I grabbed a card, as we will definitely make this a traditional stop when in Dublin!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great wine, great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

Just brought some clients for a dinner to Olesya's. I am a regular there and was moved to write a review by the review which said don't eat there. I couldn't disagree more. The food is always superb in my view and my clients thought so too (I know they weren't spoofing). The steak is, in my view, the best in Dublin. I also love the soup and herring there. Their platters are very good, with some top of the range meats and cheeses and delicious home made dips. It never ceases to amaze me how misinformed some people in Dublin are on the subject of food. Sorry if that sounds arrogant but I have eaten in many of the best restaurants in the world over a 25 year period and believe I know what I'm talking about.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Olesya's Wine Bar also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to Olesya's Wine Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Olesya's Wine Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.