We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Blackboard Bistro

The Blackboard Bistro
4 Clare Street | The Basement, Dublin D2, Ireland (South City Centre)
353-1-6766839
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #54 of 1,797 restaurants in Dublin
Price range: $34 - $68
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romance, Doing business, Special occasions, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Lunch, Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Neighborhood: South City Centre
Description: The Blackboard Bistro understands the simple art of Risotto and a starter of leek and bacon risotto with fresh oregano, lemon zest & creme fraiche proves this point beautifully with all the flavours balanced, expressive and just right. Everything else that comes from the kitchen is just as precise! Mc Kenna Guides - 100 best Irish Restaurants 2013
Dublin
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

I meant to write this a few weeks back. I had lunch here with a friend that I hadn't seen in far too long. The food was really really good and the service was very friendly, highly recommended for a top quality lunch. It's a small restaurant and a little more expensive than others but the food quality and presentation really was excellent.

I am planning on coming back again for dinner in a couple of weeks, I have persuaded the company to take our sales and marketing teams here when they are over for a conference. Yum yum bring it on. .

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    57
    22
    3
    4
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Hayling Island, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Flower show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2014

Discovered the Blackboard whilst walking around Dublin, it was a delightful restaurant and we had a lovely meal with excellent service

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Regularly use this restaurant for celebratory meals”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2014

We ate here for the 8th or 9th time last week. The menu is very well put together, the food is delicious and portions sizes are perfect to allow you to really enjoy a three course meal. The service can at times be a bit slow when the restaurant is very busy but when this does happen the maitre d' makes up for this with charm and extra bread. Never had a bad meal in this restaurant always happy to return. Seasonal menu is interesting, varied and modern while remaining authentically French. Lovely couple who run the restaurant and nice staff and decor add to the cosy charm. Wine list is also well chosen. I enjoyed smoked salmon and potato salad, a lovely rare steak and an exquisite chocolate caramel mousse, While my partner also had the salmon followed by a confit duck leg and the lemon basil sorbet with a shot if vodka. a few glasses of wine and a glass of prosecco to go with one of the best meals I've had out in a while.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallahassee, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Good food but significantly overpriced”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

Ate at this restaurant last month while in Dublin. It is a small, but attractive place. Went there because it was convenient to our hotel, and it had good Tripadvisor reviews. While the food was well prepared, I though the servings were skimpy and overpriced. For what they charge, you should get a really great dining experience.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Lovely Evening Out at The Blackboard Bistro”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

We went to The Blackboard on a Saturday evening before going on to the National Concert Hall. We arrived half an hour before our booking time due to the train timetable and it was not a problem. The restaurant features an excellent value menu - €35 for three courses. I had the salad with feta, broad beans and avocado, hake and lemon sorbet with basil. All faultless. Service was discreet and thoughtful. A real gem in Dublin - we were glad to have the extra half an hour to enjoy the meal.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Blackboard Bistro also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to The Blackboard Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Blackboard Bistro, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.