We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice relaxing place to eat and chat with friends” 4 of 5 stars
Review of La Caverna

La Caverna
Italian Restaurant and Wine Bar | 12 Fownes Street, Temple Bar, Dublin, Ireland (Temple Bar)
+353 1 670 3110
Website
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
La Caverna is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #197 of 1,820 Restaurants in Dublin
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $12 - $27
Cuisines: Italian, Mediterranean
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Private Dining, Reservations
Neighborhood: Temple Bar
Description: Situated in the heart of Temple Bar, La Caverna is a little taste of Italy in Dublin creating a tradition of excellence. With three levels, each comfortably seating up to 40 people, La Caverna is ideal for groups old all sizes. The newly renovated 300 years old Wine Cellar is a beautifully crafted 18th Century Barrel Vault, updated with soft lighting and superb selection of over 120 premium wines from Italy, France and Spain. We are proud to be the only Restaurant in Dublin to serve the entire Wine Collection also by the Glass.
Dublin Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Nice relaxing place to eat and chat with friends”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014 via mobile

I enjoyed a meal here as part of a small group. The food was good, well presented and tasty, the wine was well chosen and affordable. The big plus for me was the service it was efficient whilst not in any way intrusive. We all very much enjoyed the dining experience

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

358 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    70
    42
    19
    25
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Nice service and atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2014

I had nice moments at La Caverna. I was very impressed with the grandeur of space and quality of the dishes we tasted.

When we go the restaurant from the outside, do not give to get a sense of space, it's really comfortable.

The staff are pleasant and helpful enough and the best, and efficient are attentive to the requests. Definitely a place I will have a pleasure to go back and taste new dishes.

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Amazing restaurant my fave in dublin”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

Staff are so nice and helpful
Food is amazing tasty and good quality
Very reasonable prices
Child friendly and staff are great with kids
Love the atmosphere
And it's such a beautiful restaurant

Best Italian in dublin

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Top Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2013

Went to La Caverna with a bunch of friends the Saturday just before Christmas and was very impressed with the service and the food. The atmosphere was relaxed and comfortable. The food was hearty and delicious, served in large portions. I had the calamare to start, which was just perfect, with the barest hint of something spicy and there was enough on the plate for 2 people. The prawn pasta for mains was stunning; pity I couldn't eat it all after the generous starter. Most impressive of all was the friendly table service provided by a polish girl whose name sadly escapes me - but well done to her.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lancashire
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Perfect”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2013

Booked a table for 20 ppl earlier this month to celebrate my best friends 40th birthday :) we were seated in the private section on the top floor which was fantastic and catered for our noisy party!!
Service was very prompt and the food was outstanding, very tasty and plenty of it. We wanted for nothing throughout the evening which was ideal with us being such a large party to cater for. Some say quite expensive, but I say it's worth every penny :)
I will definitely return here when I visit Dublin again and would recommend to each and everyone of you reading this review.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Caverna also viewed

Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 
Dublin, County Dublin
Dublin, County Dublin
 

Been to La Caverna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage La Caverna, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.