We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“About as good as it gets” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa to your Saves list
Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Pawleys Island, South Carolina
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“About as good as it gets”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Our Family spent 2 nights at the Castle. We have travelled all over the world, and I have to say that this is one of the best hotels we have ever stayed. First of all, we were travelling with our grown children and we forgot to reserve a double room. When we got to the hotel we found out that they were assigned a king room. Even though the hotel was sold out, the front desk somehow found them a double. Breakfast was excellent, and the we ate dinner one night at the Gallery Bar and the food and service (James I think) was superb. The location is amazing, take time to walk around and enjoy them. The grounds are very tastefully accentuated with beautiful bronze statues. The castle has great rooms that are perfect for having an Irish whisky while reading in front of a fireplace. Also, if you have time, take a day trip to the cliffs at Slieve League. It is similar to the Cliffs of Moher without the crowds.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,110
    210
    91
    38
    23
See reviews for
207
887
12
27
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (321)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ireland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Spent a night here on a travelzoo voucher - well worth it. The staff were excellent and also friendly, even under pressure at checkout time when there were a cluster of guests wanting to check out at the same time they were fast but smiley and we left with a good impression. Food is great! Had evening meal here and a very generous breakfast. Bar is pleasant place to spend the evening. Room was very spacious and some nice touches like underfloor heating in the bathroom.
Only downside - unnecessarily vicious high speed bumps coming up the main avenue. If your car hasn't much ground clearance then be sure to use the back entrance.

Room Tip: We stayed in the coutyard rooms which were excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbridge, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

Excellent hotel....real escape from from everything. Food, facilities and staff all first class. We will be back. We stayed in the outside room which seems equally as good as those in the main hotel (and cheaper). Nothing was a problem for the staff and the evening meal and breakfast could not be faulted.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012 via mobile

I stayed here last Saturday night with my fiancé. Gorgeous hotel but what makes this hotel stand out is the service. It's top notch and all the staff are very welcoming and warm (especially a shout out to the bar staff - made great cocktails and very friendly). Some points below

-stayed in the courtyard room. Bit cold when we went in as cleaning staff had left the door open but heated up nicely(underfloor heating). Bathroom fab.
-spa is amazing I had a body scrub and mini facial and I was so relaxed after it. There is also a thermal suite that residents get full use of free of charge. have to walk outside to the spa and it was freezing but that is a minor point.
- dinner was very good and wine was lovely. Service again outstanding.
-bar has a nice relaxing atmosphere and there was live music. Great staff.
- missed breakfast due to overdoing it on the cocktails the night before but I'm sure we wouldn't have been diappointed :)

Can't wait to return- it is pricey but worth it !!

Dee

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Have just enjoyed a lovely stay at Lough Eske a great experience from start to finish. Hotel has a lovely homely feel to it with lots of log fires comfee sofas and lots of little nooks and crannies! Evening meal was delicious all be it that the wine was a little over priced however I was however most impressed that a corkscrew & ice bucket was provided in the bedroom that certainly is a first for me in a hotel. The spa and thermal pools were a nice relaxing experience. Breakfast was terrific such a choice my only complaint was that I couldn't try everything! Staff throughout the hotel were very friendly and extremely attentive. Great experience!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islip, New York
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Ok, it's a castle--it's supposed to be exceptional, but this is more about service, than anything. Yes, the landscape is gorgeous, and the rooms are gorgeous, spacious, clean, and the food is wonderful--these should be standard in a castle. But what wasn't typical, is the service we rec'd there. We were on our honeymoon and told by the travel agency, that there was a two-stay minimum. Not only did they approve a one-night stay, but the room was upgraded for us...and when I say upgraded, I mean UPGRADED! We were put into a suite, like I've never seen before--we had a private entrance that opened into two separate doors. One was a bathroom that was the size of our bedroom at home (which isn't small), with a private shower, a private toilet, and a bathtub as luxurious as the bedroom. The other door led to a bedroom as enchanting as the staff-a king size bed that gave us the most comfortable nights sleep ever (much needed on a two-week trek around the UK!), a faux fireplace, great books on the history of Ireland, and huge armoires which were just deliciously designed. It's a shame this isn't the original castle, but the owner has DEFINITELY done a wonderful job of recreating history! The food was also amazing and yet again, the staff was sweet enough to make me diabetic! They comp'd our drinks and made us a special honeymoon cake--the server even entertained our American ways, by teaching us how to pronounce the name of one of our fav Irish musicians (Iarla O'Lionaird). We were placed in a private booth that we had seen online prior to our visit, and treated like royalty-I have to say, the other guests probably wondered who we were, since we are quite unusual looking, with our tattoos and "American" style! For the price of this amazing place, why would you stay anywhere else? Even without the special honeymoon treatment, it's so worth the experience! And don't forget to take a walk up the road that leads in to the castle...you'll find a dragon awaiting! (Not a joke!)

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alcoa, Tennessee
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We only had time to have an evening meal here but OH did we wish we had more time and could have stayed a few nights. Absolutely delicious meal, beautifully presented, great wine, and beautiful property. Pure elegance.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa 5*
Number of rooms: 96
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lough Eske Castle, a Solís Hotel & Spa is an historic castle dating to the 15th century and the O'Donnell Clan, the founding fathers of Donegal. Set in a secluded storybook location within 43 acres of native woodland on the shores of Lough Eske with the dramatic Bluestack Mountains as a stunning backdrop, it is the ideal place to relax and experience superior hospitality and exceptional friendly service. Winner of the 'World's Best Luxury Country Hotel' title in 2009, 2010, 2011 and 2012 and topping 'My Guide Ireland's Top 10 Hotels in Ireland, this lovingly restored castle hotel blends its historic past with a dash of contemporary luxury where you can escape into a world of relaxed elegance. From the spa to the dining table to your beautifully appointed guestroom, we provide a truly accommodating environment where our dedication to the guest is thoughtful, reliable, consistent and complete - a place where superb service and superior amenities make every day here a perfect day. Step into Solís Lough Eske Castle, and you step into an imposing Tudor-baronial castle, lavishly refurbished in 2007 and extended to create the modern comforts and graceful luxury of a world class boutique hotel. With stunning views and easy access to the great outdoors, the natural, unspoiled landscape is as magnificent as the hotel itself. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lough Eske Castle Hotel Donegal Town
Solis Lough Eske Castle Donegal
Solis Lough Eske Castle Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lough Eske Castle, a Solis Hotel & Spa, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.