We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great setting and a bar to die for” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Harvey's Point
Lough Eske | Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
+353 74 972 2208
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 57 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $45 - $62
Cuisines: French, Irish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Entertaining clients, Romantic, Special occasions, Scenic view
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Unveiled in early 2014, this new look Lakeside Restaurant at Harvey's Point is set to Wow new guests and regular guests alike! The creation of a new theatre style open kitchen allows you to 'come into' the Kitchen and view the gastronomic dishes being prepared. At the same time you feel like you are outside looking in with the magnificent vista across Lough Eske. Matched with the finest personal service, this gastronomic experience at Harvey's Point rivals any in the country. Our Restaurant team will assist you in choosing the perfect wine or champagne accompaniment to each course of your meal - the right wine can totally transform a dish. If you are looking for a romantic break- Allow us to provide the perfect setting for you!
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“great setting and a bar to die for”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2014

I have visited Donegal for many years but never got round to visiting harveys point
wow what a bad mistake that was , went for lunch the other day and although during lunch time midweek the choice was very small , the quality was not ,
we sat in the bar area for a hour first and relaxed with a glass of wine , this is a great place to relax for a few hours , comfy chairs and great bar staff make this a place to try , we then eat in the main restaurant and was not disappointed at all good food and good service , even seeing Harvey the goose at the window wanting lunch to , the setting of the hotel is great and the overall experience is good with staff asking all the time if everything is ok , we will be back and as soon as possible

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 21, 2014
Dear Guest,


We are delighted that you have discovered Harvey's Point and thank you for taking time to write such a lovely review of your recent dining experience.

It was our pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to being of service to you again sometime soon.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

234 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    168
    35
    16
    9
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Donegal Town, Ireland
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2014

My son took me and his 2 teenagers out for Sunday Lunch today and I can honestly say I don't have a single complaint. Keep up the good work Harvey s Point and I am already looking forward to attending the dinner and cabaret night later in the month.
Many thanks to all the wonderful staff who work there.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Dear Paula,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind words of recommendation of Sunday Carvery at Harvey’s Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your family and we look forward to seeing you again later in the month for our cabaret.

Special greetings from all our dedicated staff.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Lovely food & service, but pricey”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My partner and I ate here on the first night of our stay at this marvellous hotel. The dining area faces the lake and is absolutely beautiful in the late evening.

The quality of the food is amazing and it is delicious. We did find the menu was very limited and was very very pricey, however, when you factor in the views, the setting and the service, it is more than adequate.

Johnny was our main server for dinner. He was very pleasant, welcoming and an ideal waiter.

We had breakfast each morning which was also delicious. There's a lot of variety to choose from and the fruit smoothie was amazing

Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Patrick,

Thank you most sincerely for taking the time to share your comments following your recent visit to Harvey's Point. It was our pleasure to welcome you and your partner to our hotel.

We are happy to hear that you had an enjoyable experience and we will take your comments on board in relation to the menu content and pricing. Thank you for bringing your view to our attention.

Johnny will be thrilled to receive a special mention and we will ensure that he receives a copy of your kind compliments.

Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Worksop, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Cabaret and Dinner Show”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

Lovely hotel and surroundings, smart and friendly staff.
Well worth the visit if you holiday in Donegal Town fabulous meal and non stop 1st class cabaret throughly enjoyed every minute of it

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you most sincerely for your kind compliments about Harvey's Point - our staff, our food and our cabaret. We are thrilled that you had an enjoyable experience and we hope you will have occasion to return again sometime in the future.


Kind regards,

The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Fabulous hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

Originally planned to stay for 2 nights at this fabulous hotel but enjoyed the hospitality and ambience of the place so much we stayed for 4. will most definitely return.

Visited July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Deirdre M, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, July 26, 2014
Dear Steve,

It was our pleasure to welcome you to Harvey's Point and we are truly delighted that you had a wonderful experience.

Thank you for your lovely compliments and we look forward to extending another warm Donegal welcome to you on your next visit.

In the meantime, we send you our very best wishes and kind regards,


The Gysling Family, Noel & Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Harvey's Point also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.