We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donegal Manor

Save Saved
You added Donegal Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donegal Manor
Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Donegal Town
Ogden, Utah
1 review
“Wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 12, 2013

We enjoyed every minute of our short stay at the Manor. It was clean and beautiful. The room was large and spacious, plenty of room to stretch out. The breakfast was delicious and the homemade jelly was to die for. The sweet couple that run the Manor were so kind and treated us like family. We will be back!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    37
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
85
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

This is a most beautiful place to stay. Even though it is on the N15 we didn't find traffic noise to be a problem and had an excellent night's sleep.
The welcome was very warm as was the open fire where we had a cuppa before heading out to see the town. Our room - Lady Nuala - was beautiful. It was huge and tastefully decorated. The bed was a big king size (2 singles together) and the bathroom very clean and modern. We did have a little problem finding it as it was getting dark and the sign is not big. The GPS didn't recognise it as a POI or the road it was on - Clar Rd. However, it is like a service road and the manor can be seen from the main road (when you know where it is).
Breakfast was also excellent with a range of foods including beautiful light pancakes. Great value for money although it was the 'off season'. But even in a slow time, I know we would never get anything of this standard for the money we paid in Australia. Just wish we had more time to spend there. If I could give it 6 out of 5 I would!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013 via mobile

We picked this as it was out of town .it is a little old fashioned but the welcome was warm and the food some of the best we had had. We had viewed the website and found it to be as shown so we were not disappointed. What was nice was a cup of tea and a fresh scone each afternoon when we arrived back after our days out .the staff were really nice and very helpful with taxi bookings for our evenings in the town. We would definitely visit again . The price was also very good

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spiddal, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 5, 2012

During the winter this is more of a guest house than a hotel. The rooms were clean, large and comfortable. The breakfasts were delicious with homemade jams, bread and cake. The hotel would be an ideal place to stay if attending an event locally.

However, as a destination in itself it was disappointing as there were no facilities such as a playground or gym. Also, during the winter there is no bar.

Overall though, it was as advertised.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bilbao, Spain
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

The hotel was ok. Rooms a little old fashion and asking for some refurbishing. The main problem is that getting there at night is crazily dangerous. The entrance to the place from the main road is not enlightened at all and is almost impossible to find the place. But you forget all these problems when you wake up there next morning. The breakfast is glorious!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2012

We are just back from a weekend at the Donegal Manor. We booked a Deluxe but were given a Standard Bedroom. The room was comfortable enough but basic (no 'flat screen tv, super king or king size beds, comfortable seating' as promised on the website) but when we were paying we had a difficult conversation as the gentleman wanted to charge the higher rate, insisting the room was 'deluxe' before admitting it wasn't. Our stay had been fine up to then but this cast a real cloud on an otherwise great weekend. Next time we will stay somewhere more convenient for Donegal Town.

Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SianDonegalManor, Owner at Donegal Manor, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thank you for viewing Donegal Manor and bringing to our attention that the description of the triple room you booked is misleading. I have immediately contacted the agent who is responsible for the information on their booking website to amend the details. We are also reviewing our check in procedure so that our guests who have booked a triple room may be offered either a room with three double beds or a room with a superking bed and a single bed.

Our guests who book a triple room have been delighted to find that we offer three double beds rather than the standard three single beds found in most hotels and guesthouses. On this occasion we accept that the room whilst it offered 3 double beds for 3 guests, a family room with a super king bed and single bed would have been more suitable for you if it had been brought to our attention soon after arrival.

As the room was occupied by three guests and booked as triple, three breakfasts were provided each morning during your stay which accounted for the difference in the price of the rooms.

We are extremely sorry for the confusion as to the description of the triple room, at check out, we classify the triple room as a deluxe for the reasons stated above. We are always extremely concerned about the comfort of our guests and will always go that extra mile when we are made aware of any issues concerning our guests..
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lodi, New Jersey, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Oct 2012 my fiance and I had the pleasure of staying at the Donegal Manor for a couple of nights and it was just wonderful. The room was very large, clean and the bed very comfy! We very much enjoyed the full Irish breakfast served in the morning before heading out to town which is only a five minute drive. Michael, his wife and their staff were always at the ready to assist us and with Marie from Gallagher Taxi at the ready, we came, we saw, we conquered LOL. Thanks Donegal Manor!! We'll be back!!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Donegal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Manor

Address: Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal Manor offers our guests - style in our beautifully decorated manor, comfort in our spacious deluxe, twin and family bedrooms, ideal location, only one mile from shops, restaurants and Lough Eske, convenient to all attractions in Co. Donegal. Delicious breakfasts - local produce and no queues. Enjoy a warm and sincere welcome from Michael, Sian and staff, and whether you like to relax in front of the log/turf fire or unwind in the privacy of your bedroom - we make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Donegal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donegal Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.