We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great hospitality” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Donegal Manor

Save Saved
You added Donegal Manor to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Donegal Manor
Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Donegal Town
Randalstown, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“great hospitality”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed a couple of nights. Everything was just right. The breakfast had plenty of choice, and was nicely presented. I would recommend the baileys porridge.... The owners went out of their way to ensure we had an excellent stay. Our room was massive and it was quiet at night. Donegal is a fabulous area for hiking, rambling, exploring. Other guesthouses could learn a thing about customer service from Michael and Sian. There is cake, scones, tea, coffee etc available in the reception room all day; this is a really nice touch and the room is just right for socialising with other guests. Only negative is that it's quite a long walk into town in the evening, but there are taxis to get home again!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

218 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    165
    37
    14
    1
    1
See reviews for
49
85
7
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

Beautiful Guest House situated a few miles out of the town of Donegal. As has been said in many reviews, the owners are fab, very accommodating and welcoming, without being "in your face". The breakfast is one of the best we have ever had. Stay here, you will not be disappointed

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dungannon, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2012

Lovely B&B. Really well kept. Rooms are spacious and modern. Staff very friendly. Highly recommended. We will be back.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Overall this was a very nice place to stay. Unfortunately I only had one night but my expereince was a very positive one. It was easy to find and in a good location to explore county Donegal. The owners were very nice and even offered to make extra food for me to take hiking. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The breakfast of toast and scrmabled eggs with salmon was delicous and a great start to any day. Overall a very positive expereince

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham
Top Contributor
128 reviews 128 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2012

Michael and Sian were lovely and helpful. Fantastic choice of breakfasts. 3 fish dishes, scones, cakes. Tea and coffee with scones available all day in reception. Open fire in lounge. We had room 24 which was massive. 2 double beds with table and chairs. Windows that opened, lovely. Individual breakfast tables in a lovely breakfast room. Staff helpful and kind. sian and Michael great hosts. Really look after you. Michael took us into town a couple of times. How lovely. Marvellous place to stay.
I would say the location if you haven't got a car is a slight problem. With car no problem. No car, it's a half hour walk into Donegal or 7 Euros each way by taxi so only go in and out once a day if you can help it. There are no buses to take you into Donegal. That said we would taxi in and walk back at the end of the day when the rain had stopped! It was fine.

Room Tip: Room 24 is massive with 2 double beds in.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Ireland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2012

Absolutely beautiful B&B inside and out. The rooms were very spacious and the decor modern and homely and the bed extremely comfortable. The service we received was fantastic and the breakfast was so delicious, I can't recommend it enough - truly scrumptious.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
vancouver, B.C.
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2012

Manor is very rustic yet charming looking. A very clean facility. Sian, hostess, was welcoming and a fountain of knowledge of the area and towns all down the west coast of Ireland! A nice touch having scones, tea and coffee available all day long. We arrived late so went to dinner in town and Sian was kind enough to put a plate of scones with jam and butter in our bedroom.

A well equipped, clean and extremely large bedroom for 3 adults. There were 3 queen beds in the room. Bathroom also very spacious and well equipped with towels ( face towels too - not a European thing) and 3 sets of toiletries. Beds very comfortable.

Irish breakfast with cereals, juices and fresh baked goods included with the stay. This was the best Irish breakfast in our two week holiday in Ireland. Sian willing to share recipes if requested.

A real gem of a B&B and wish we could have stayed another night to see local attractions and enjoy the comforts of Donegal Manor.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Donegal Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donegal Manor

Address: Clar Road, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Donegal Manor offers our guests - style in our beautifully decorated manor, comfort in our spacious deluxe, twin and family bedrooms, ideal location, only one mile from shops, restaurants and Lough Eske, convenient to all attractions in Co. Donegal. Delicious breakfasts - local produce and no queues. Enjoy a warm and sincere welcome from Michael, Sian and staff, and whether you like to relax in front of the log/turf fire or unwind in the privacy of your bedroom - we make you feel at home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Donegal Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Donegal Manor, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.