We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent 2nd time round” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard na Breatha Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Ard na Breatha Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ard na Breatha Guesthouse
Drumrooske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
10% DISCOUNT
Ranked #2 of 39 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Rochdale
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Excellent 2nd time round”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This is our 2nd visit to this marvelous guesthouse,and we were not disappointed.We were treated very well by Theresa and Albert,who is an excellent chef,and would also like to thank sarah who advised us on new places to travel to as she served us our evening meals.We love this part of Ireland and will visit it on a regular basis during our visit to relatives in County Mayo.We hope Theresa and Albert continue to run the business for many years to come,because they are the nicest couple you could hope to meet.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

238 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    200
    27
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
52
121
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire, England
Top Contributor
139 reviews 139 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2010

Lovely Irish welcome and hospitality. We thought that the dinner was overpriced for the quality and we were not sure how much of it was organic. It probably should have been priced around the 25 - 30 Euro range.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
I was sorry that the guest felt our price was too much.Our five course Dinner menu is priced at €38 which is very good value for top quality ingrediants. Our chef prepares and cooked every item on the Dinner Menu freshly each day using organic and local produce.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2010

We have just returned from a 5 day trip to Donegal for a wedding.
We stayed at the Ard na Breatha, a 10 minute walk from the town centre
What a fantastic place !!!
Excellent accommodation and food
Bedrooms are great, but, perhaps, the bathroom is smallish
The food is out of this world. Breakfast and Dinner were of the highest quality
Theresa, the owner, and Sarah looked after us royally
Ignore "writergirl30" comments, Theresa is a fabulous host and security is great.
Thank you to the Morrows and their staff for a happy and memorable stay
We will return to the Ard na Breatha when we are next in the area

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow
Top Contributor
56 reviews 56 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2010

We stayed here for a night on our way to Co Mayo. The room was clean but nothing special and a bit basic. As the guesthouse is quite far out of Donegal and not within walking distance of any other restaurant or bar we had our evening meal in their restaurant. The food was excellent, but I did feel it was a bit over priced. Breakfast was very good with excellent home made bread. The place was quite difficult to find and we were trying to follow the directions from their website and we did have a sat nav.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, March 27, 2011
I was sorry to hear our guests had difficulty in finding us. The directions on the website are straighforward and I also encouage people to give me a ring if in doubt when they arrive in Donegal town as we are just a three minute drive from there. Unfortunally the GPS system dosent seem to work quite as well in the country areas compared to cities and larger towns.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bromsgrove
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2010

Clean and modern room, very comfortable, the food in the restaurant is Amazing!! Stay for dinner and you won't be disappointed - the food was delicious and was a real treat on a rainy April evening! Staff were excellent. Breakfast was really scrummy too -(I think its mostly organic.) :-)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

An excellent location for a wedding my boyfriend and I were attending near by. We arrived at 10am (check in not until 3pm) and were catered for straight away (with both bed AND breakfast!) - luckily there was one free room the previous night! The room was very comfortable and the owner and staff were extremely friendly and helpful and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay. We only stayed for one night but will definately stay there again next time we are in Donegal!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rotterdam
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2009

Everything was excellent. Me and my mom enjoyed so much that we stayed one night longer than we had planned. Theresa (owner) was so warm and friendly. You feel right at home. Our room was also great. It was clean, lots of space, cozy and wonderfully decorated. We also had dinner in the restaurant. It was really good, the food, the wine, the setting, everything was wonderful. The husband of Theresa does the cooking and everything is prepared with biological ingedients, with respect for the environment. It was delicious! The breakfasts were also delicious and with lots of choice. The best B&B we have ever been. I would reccomend it to everyone. We are planning another trip to Ireland and we will definitely stay in Ard na Breatha again!

  • Stayed March 2008
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ard na Breatha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard na Breatha Guesthouse

Address: Drumrooske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 39 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard na Breatha Hotel is 4 diamond A.A. standard, and is one of the first in Ireland to receive the E.U. Flower for Eco tourism. Theresa works front of house and Albert is Head Chef and farmer, our main emphasis is on customer care and attention to detail. You are assured of a warm Irish welcome, turf fires, and the finest of local and organic ingredients from the farm, goes into the excellent dinners and breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Ard na Breatha Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.