We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“One of our favorite B&B's in Ireland!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Ard na Breatha Guesthouse

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Ard na Breatha Guesthouse to your Saves list
Ard na Breatha Guesthouse
Drumrooske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 38 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
Fairfax, Virginia
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“One of our favorite B&B's in Ireland!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Ar na Breatha Guesthouse was our favorite B&B in Ireland. Our rooms were inviting and cheery. Our family of five enjoyed a gourmet dinner in the Ar na Breatha dining room. Everyone loved their meal and the hospitality was perfect!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your lovely review. Delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and Dinner in the Restaurant. We always feel that guests that experience the culinary skills of our chefs Dinner Menu get the complete Ard na Breatha experience. Kind regards Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

223 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    185
    27
    5
    3
    3
See reviews for
48
113
7
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Arlington, Virginia
Top Contributor
72 reviews 72 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2013

Though not the easiest to find given Ireland's historically poor road signage, it is totally worth the adventure. It's nestled amongst a few sheep pastures, which you do Not smell. The staff were extremely helpful and informative. Our room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The price was very reasonable for this area of Ireland. They have a cozy little meeting room available to guests that even has an honor bar available. The breakfast in the morning was delicious with a lot of selection. They were also quite quick with the service, which was nice since we had a long drive ahead of us that morning.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for posting your positive review of Ard na Breatha.If guests pop in the coordinates in their G.P.S it takes you right to the gate, otherwise just come into Donegal Town, and from here we are only a three minute drive. The local tourist office will give you a map. It was a pleasure to meet you both and delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us. Kind Regards Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Falls Church, Virginia
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2013

My wife and I have visited Ireland for the past 16 years, 6 years ago we discovered Ard na Breatha and we've never been disappointed in as many stays. It's a great location for a home base to explore the northwest of Ireland. The rooms are clean and well appointed, breakfast is wonderful and generous and we make it a point of timing our day trips to return in time for dinner (be sure to reserve your seating). Teresa & Albert will make you feel welcome and you will soon understand why Ireland is a special place to make memories.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guests, Thank you so much for posting your great review. It is always such a pleasure to have you both stay with us. Its hard to believe how time goes by year after year. I wish you both all the best,and hope to welcome you back in 2014. Kind regards Theresa x
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn, Germany
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2013

This guesthouse is situated on the outskirts of Donegal therefor more suitable for car passengers. As we were travelling by car we appreciated the ample car park as well as the quiet location. Within a few minutes you can ride, bike or hike Lough Eske and the Bluestack Mountains. Donegal is a beautiful town, there are hundreds of atlantic beaches north and south and the Glenveagh National Park is within easy reach. We loved the guesthouse for it's lovely rooms, the outstanding breakfast (absolutely great), a beautiful sitting room surrounded by literature and the warm and welcoming hosts, definitely five stars!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you so much for giving us 5 out of 5 in your lovely review. It was a real pleasure to meet you both. I,m so glad you enjoyed your time with us at Ard na Breatha. If you are ever back in Donegal in the future you would be most welcome. Kind Regards Theresa and staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CONewbie
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We visit Ireland often but this was our first stay in Donegal Town. Ard na Breatha Guesthouse was a perfect place to enjoy this beautiful area. It is a bit out of town and we found it a bit tricky to find on our first try. We stayed two nights and on the first evening we enjoyed a lovely meal in the restaurant. Breakfast is served in the restaurant with gorgeous views overlooking the countryside. Everything about our stay was wonderful. If you choose to stay here, you will be very happy that you did!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 31, 2013
Dear Guest, Thank you for going to the trouble of posting a lovely comment. We are just a three minute drive from Donegal Town and there is a short way to walk in ten minutes. Delighted that you enjoyed Dinner in the restaurant and your stay with us. I would be delighted to welcome you back in the future if you are touring Donegal. Kind Regards Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, New Jersey
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

We were extremely pleased with everything during our stay here. The staff was great, the food was terrific, would definitely return here. We found it on the Internet at the last minute, we were able to get three rooms for two nights. The owners were very welcoming and accommodating. We all agreed it was one of the best places in the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for going to the trouble of posting a review, we love to get 5 out of 5 . Delighted that we had availability for you all as we usually get booked out very quickly but October starts to get a little bit quiet mid week. It was wonderful to meet you all and as I keep saying we are blessed with the wonderful people that stay at Ard na Breatha. It makes our job very rewarding and interesting every day. If you are ever back in this area you would be most welcome. Kind regards Theresa & staff
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cirencester
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2013

Very welcoming. Comfortable, immaculate and tastefully appointed rooms. Pleasant and convenient location.
Really Excellent food both for dinner and breakfast. Strongly recommend this bijou hotel. For us it was one highlight of a memorable trip.
Barry

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hamDonegal, Owner at Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, responded to this review, October 7, 2013
Dear Guest Thank you for your delightful comments.It was a real pleasure to meet you all and have you stay with us. Glad you enjoyed our accommodation and Dinner in the Restaurant . If you are back in this part of Ireland again you would all be most welcome. Kind Regards Theresa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Ard na Breatha Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ard na Breatha Guesthouse

Address: Drumrooske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ard na Breatha Hotel is 4 diamond A.A. standard, and is one of the first in Ireland to receive the E.U. Flower for Eco tourism. Theresa works front of house and Albert is Head Chef and farmer, our main emphasis is on customer care and attention to detail. You are assured of a warm Irish welcome, turf fires, and the finest of local and organic ingredients from the farm, goes into the excellent dinners and breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Ard na Breatha Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Ard na Breatha Guesthouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.