We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fab!!! ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Olde Village Tearoom

The Olde Village Tearoom
1. Main St | Mountcharles, Donegal Town, Ireland
863426344
Improve this listing
Ranked #12 of 57 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Cuisines: European
Restaurant details
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fab!!! ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2014

Top quality food, and service with a smile. Lorraine goes above and beyond to ensure your visit is a pleasant one! Will definitely be back :)

Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    1
    1
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“A warm welcome great portions fanastic food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

I eat here often. Why? Because the food is fantastic very reasonably priced its a lovely atmosphere and all the staff or so friendly its like your in there home kitchen. All home made baking and dessert too. When I come here not only do I get feed and my coffee always topped up. I leave feeling fresher and happier. Its a 5* class on customer service. For all you big eatters try Lorraines gut buster breakfast.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“wonderful, quaint and delightful Slice of perfection!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2013

The Olde Village Tea Rooms is an endearing slice of hospitality and delicious home baked treats. Lorraine always has a warm welcome for all. Also, if you want an insight into local history or just a friendly chat then The Olde Village Tea Rooms is well worth a visit. Not to mention the delicious cupcakes!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“william&margaret odoherty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

we were on route to killybegs in july we stopped in for a bowl of soup and home baked weaten .,the best we every got ,we got to know the owner lorraine shes a very nice lady .food very good..tearooms very clean .we enjoyed our food so we called back in november get more of that lovely soup .and home baked weaten bread, lorraine told us that her tearooms was open one year that day. thank you lorraine.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Eat at Lorraine's for a fun and delicious time!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

We actually came through Donegal driving to the northern coast. Stopped at The Olde Village Tearoom when we realized the bar close by was closed for lunch. So glad we did!

Lorraine (owner) just opened up this lovely little tearoom. Wonderful! The food was really good and came to us quickly. The best of all were the yummy desserts which she lovingly makes from scratch. In fact, we tried the rest our of time in Northern Ireland and the Republic to find the caramel squares (chocolate on top) to equal Lorraine's. It became somewhat of a quest. Nope. No one could match hers! Seriously yummy!

If in Donegal Town, you really need to stop by and visit Lorraine's shop!

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Olde Village Tearoom also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to The Olde Village Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Olde Village Tearoom, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.