We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Rossmore: Rosswood House

Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Rosswood House set on an Elevated Site overlooking Donegal Bay
Rosswood House Driveway and Wonderful Sea Views
Rosswood House as Seen on a Winters Snowy Morning
View over Donegal Bay as Seen from Front Upsatirs Kind Bedroom
Ground Floor Hallway
Donegal Town
|
Rental Home – 
4 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Andrew B
Dublin, Ireland
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“What a fantastic house”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 3, 2014 for a stay in December 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our Christmas stay in Rosswood House. The house was spacious, modern and comfortable (and well able to withstand the turbulent Irish winter weather). We have rented various holiday homes in Ireland, and this one has moved to the top of the list. Loads of room for our party of 8, very spacious kitchen and lovely cozy living area with fantastic open fire. Very comfortable beds too. The view from the front of the house is beautiful and constantly changes with the weather. Because it was Christmas we didn't get to explore the area as much as we would have liked (so we will have to come back!!). We did get to Murvagh beach a couple of times and the dogs loved it. Donegal town also looks like a nice place to have a wander. Well done on a fantastic house Gareth, and for your excellent service when we arrived.

Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
sarahj_te...
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Brilliant trip”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013 for a stay in October 2013
1
person found this review helpful

I came home yesterday from a trip to Rosswood House with my Partner and parents. We had a brilliant time house was massive, great value and the views were amazing. Where the house is located is very out of the way which means peace and quiet but is also only a 10 mins taxi drive from Donegal Town so we were able to go into the town every night very easily. It is also dog friendly so our little pet was welcome as well which was very handy.

The Owner is also really helpful and friendly and made sure we had everything we would need for a great long weekend.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 4 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: The shower
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
FraGreg20...
San Francisco, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Lovely Home and great for the kids”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013 for a stay in October 2013

First, Gareth is fantastic. So communicative and friendly. My family arrived in much later than we had arranged and Gareth was still so plesant and helpful, greeting everyone at the house at 1130pm! The house was immaculate and in a beautiful location, right on the water. Ponies in the fields next door kept the children very happy and there were plenty fo grounds for running around. The house has plenty of privacy and lots of room inside to relax with a big group. Plenty of dvds and books for rainy days and lovely walks close by.

The town is a 10 minute drive and the restaurants and bars are great - I highly recommend the olde Castle bar for food (seafood pie is yum!) and then down to the Reel Inn for some music - it was amazing. The people at the bar were so friendly and the music and guinness were fantastic. Gareth even drove us into town to save us getting a taxi - what a gentleman!

I cannot recommend this place more - expecially for a big family trip. The house is roomy and private and great for kids. Rossnowlagh beach is a 10 min drive and just gorgeous. Also, talk about value, you couldn't get better!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 4 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: size and privacy of the house and the views of the lough
Liked least: distance from Donegal town (not walkable) - but Gareth drove us in
Traveling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Kieran L
London, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem....Donegal's finest...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

This property is set in a beautiful inlet near Donegal town; the photos on the site only give you a partial view of this stunning setting. On arrival Gareth was on hand to go through the working of the house with us. This is an immaculate property with all modern fittings, beds, heating, wifi, Sky Tv and is a wonderfully comfortable property – If you fancy a night out Donegal is only a short drive away – but this easily as good as it gets on rental – so comfortable and stunning we stayed in and enjoyed the evening 'at home' – a special thank you to Gareth who was so generous when we ran into a few difficulties and made us very welcome to the area- really looking forward to a return visit – This property is suitable for any group, family, couple and really is 5*…….

Treat yourself….

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and quality, cleanliness of the house.
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Anne N
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“A fabulous place matched only by a fantastic host”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Rosswood House is very spacious, well laid out with all mod cons, an open fireplace, seating area outside and my mother particularly liked the rocking chair. The beds were made up when we arrived and Gareth, the owner, was very friendly and welcoming. It is a little distance away from Donegal town for going out in the evening, but this is more than compensated by the stunning views from the house. Gareth offered to drive us into town, but the house was so lovely and cosy, that it was really the perfect place for a bottle of wine and to watch the sun set which we did. The house alone deserves a top rating but on top of this, Gareth was a gem. On the day we were going back to the airport, the hire car wouldn't start. Luckily Gareth wasn't far away and although we probably interrupted his lunch, he came over immediately and he got the car started. On top of this, as I was worried about stopping to get petrol in case the car wouldn't start again, Gareth ran to put some of his own petrol into the car without a second's thought. This generosity added to the great memories I have of Rosswood House.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The location and the genuine hospitality
Liked least: I have nothing negative to say
Traveling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Oct 4, 2013
Thank you so much for the Kind Words about Rosswood House. Looking forwward to welcoming you both back again. Have even more plans for House over the next few Months. Delighted to Help out with the Hire Car and thankfully it didnt ruin your Break

Gareth
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
oasis2005
Belfast, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Great relaxing weekend”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013 for a stay in September 2013
1
person found this review helpful

From the day we arrived till the day we left, you couldn't wipe the smiles off our faces. The house, the view and the rooms. You could not find a better house to stay in. This had it all. We will be back in the near future. Was a great weekend and the weather did its best to make it the best weekend before the cold hits. Well done gareth keep up the good work and we will be back next year.

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
John R
Banbridge, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
1 review
“home away from home. if only my house was as good.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2013 for a stay in September 2013

beautiful house set in a beautiful location. views are amazing from the front.all mod cons in house including a basic sky package, and laptop.house is very clean and gardens are well cared for. ideal location for a family or two to have as a base to explore donegal. local facilities are on your doorstep. area quite close to beaches, like bundoran about 20 minutes drive away, others are closer. kids loved the open plan areas. grandparents thought that we had paid a fortune for the house , but we didnt. very competively priced.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: quietness of the location with the views. sunset a must on a good day.
Liked least: no complaints.
Traveling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$125
/
Night
Week
Request to Book
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
this property has payment protection
Owner
Gareth B
Speaks English
Listed since : May 2013
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 2 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing