We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really Excellent food.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Steakhouse

Manhattan Steakhouse
Main Street, Donegal Town, Ireland
+353 74 974 0111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 57 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Dinner, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: The Manhattan Steakhouse has been described by many as a hidden gem. It is a modern, stylish restaurant with a wide selection of great food served in a very freindly manner. It has a full bar and a relaxing lounge area. Food choices include fabulous Irish steaks, local fish, its famous sizzlers, vegetarian dishes and a wide selection of other dishes. The wine choice reflects good value and great taste from around the world.
Cocoa
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Really Excellent food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2014

Ate here earlier this eve, tricky to find but very reasonable and genuinely best burger I've had in years, wife had linguini which was top notch also. Tad slow but owner saw our wait and explained kitchen insist on doing burgers correctly to guarantee flavour. Service good also, if back in Donegal we'll defo partake again. Safe bet for sure.

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    62
    19
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
dublin ireland
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2014 via mobile

Ate here last week.great value for money, fantastic food. Really recommend this place if your in Donegal town

Visited August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

I have eaten here a few times both for dinner and most recently lunch and really enjoyed all occasions. The food is fabulous and the service is excellent. My recent lunch was gorgeous. I had my two children (aged 9 & 4) with me and they cleared their plates but managed to leave enough room for dessert! The atmosphere was relaxed and welcoming. I would highly recommend for both lunch and dinner

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Fish Chowder”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2014

On advice we visited this restaurant and were very pleased that we had.
The entrance to the restaurant is not particularly inviting since it is at the side of the Euro Shop and is along a passageway, which opens up into a lift and stair leading to the upper floor where there is a restaurant and coffee shop.
Once there, however, we found it to be delightfully decorated, light and airy.
We ordered the Fish Chowder and were not disappointed!
Highly recommended.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Dinner in the Manhattan”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 2, 2014

I'd like to start by saying the food here was actually pretty descent. The reason I'm giving it only 2/5 was that it took soooo long. To be fair, we arrived in a reasonably large group but we sat down for a simple three course at around seven and I believe it was after eleven o'clock that night before we were got to desert. About an hour after we'd ordered the waiting told me what I'd ordered was off the menu... this came as a great surprise because the order must not have been looked at during that entire time!! The gap in between each course was far too long. The waiter/chef got the deserts entirely mixed up also and ran out of one particular type and dished up something different to one of my fellow diners without consulting him. If you're in a small group or dining as a couple this place is genuinely lovely but don't attempt to go there as a larger group.

Visited June 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan Steakhouse also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Manhattan Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.