We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food needs the x factor!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Manhattan Steakhouse

Manhattan Steakhouse
Main Street, Donegal Town, Ireland
+353 74 974 0111
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 57 Restaurants in Donegal Town
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $13 - $19
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: The Manhattan Steakhouse has been described by many as a hidden gem. It is a modern, stylish restaurant with a wide selection of great food served in a very freindly manner. It has a full bar and a relaxing lounge area. Food choices include fabulous Irish steaks, local fish, its famous sizzlers, vegetarian dishes and a wide selection of other dishes. The wine choice reflects good value and great taste from around the world.
Donegal Town, Ireland
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
44 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Food needs the x factor!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Visited Manhattan for the first time in ages. My starter of goats cheese bruschetta was really tasty. I ordered the chicken sizzler for my mains however it was a bit chewy and too sweet. There was meant to be stirfried veg in it however only two pieces of peppers and mushrooms and onions was what I had in mine. My partner had the steak medium but he commented that it was a good job he didn't ask for welldone as it was overcooked. The portions are very good it's just a pity some of the dishes lack a bit in taste. The Bailey's cheesecake was bland and couldn't taste the Bailey's. The staff in here are excellent. Great service and very clean restaurant. Value for money prices but the food could be taken up a notch.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManhattanDonegal, Owner at Manhattan Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and custom. Our sizzlers are very popular and usually have a good mix of meat and vegetables. You seem to have been unlucky. Hopefully we can wow you next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

101 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    72
    21
    5
    3
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Athenry, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great food & family friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

eating out with 3 young kids is not always relaxing but was great in manhattan SH. food was excellent, I had the sizzler and the sauce was excellent. kids menu was great and had 3 clean plates. main restaurant was full so we were in lounge room and waitress offered to put on kids dvd which kept them very happy. highly recommend for families with.young children

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManhattanDonegal, Owner at Manhattan Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Thank you for your review and custom. Glad your children and you enjoyed your visit. See you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Yum yum!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

Fantastic food and very friendly atmosphere. Waitress immediately recognised that we were not local and was very chatty and welcomed us not only to the restaurant but the town also. Food was fantastic, great selection on the menu and we were well fed un leaving.
Possible that we will return before we go home and will definitely recommend to anyone we know coming this direction.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManhattanDonegal, Owner at Manhattan Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Glad you enjoyed the food, ambiance and friendly service. Thanks for your review, custom, comments and recommendation. See you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great food, great decor”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013

Have been here a few times over the last year and have never been disappointed! The restaurant is very well decorated and always clean. I would recommend the sizzler as they are great! Very good cocktail menu also. The lounge area is a great place to chill and have cocktails without having to get food

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManhattanDonegal, Owner at Manhattan Steakhouse, responded to this review, September 21, 2013
Glad you like our food, cocktails and ambiance. Thanks for the review and your custom
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sligo, Ireland
2 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing spot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

this place is amazing.Food was outstanding and staff were more than helpfull.We were served by mary al night and she seen to our every need.Atmosphere very relaxed.Will b back asap

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ManhattanDonegal, Owner at Manhattan Steakhouse, responded to this review, October 9, 2013
Dear Finuala B, Thanks for your comments and review. We will pass them on to Mary. Hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Manhattan Steakhouse also viewed

Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 
Donegal Town, County Donegal
Donegal Town, County Donegal
 

Been to Manhattan Steakhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manhattan Steakhouse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.