We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2014

Very very nice hotel.
Food was good but a bit limited, we were there 4 nights and every night there was mashed potato served, the last night we actually asked for a different potato choice which they did.
Rooms were very big really nice and comfortable. We would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of the Abbey Hotel. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you again.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    121
    64
    34
    29
See reviews for
63
129
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2014

Ate in the Abbey hotel Thursday night, food was excellent, service first class.All the staff on the ball know how to deliver real service.Keep up the good work.The food was a treat to eat delivered in good time took a 3 course set menu plenty to choose from everything about the meal was good excellent value for money plenty to eat also served in relaxed atmosphere in the restaurant, well done

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are very happy that you enjoyed the experiance and atmosphere of The Market House Restaurant.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Armagh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

I was calling around hotels looking to book a hen party for my friend. The minute I spoke with Angela in the Abbey it was confirmed that we would be staying there. Her professionalism, friendliness and openness to assist made the booking very easy. The package she offered us was excellent and whatever was asked of her, she obliged. From the minute we checked in we were warmly welcomed, great bedrooms for sharing individuals on a party weekend and all close together which was great too. We had champagne before dinner on the back terrace of the hotel (part of the packaged) and then we ate in the dining room of the hotel ina private room which was Fantatsic. The food and service was too class and there was nothing you could fault, even if you wanted too. We then went outside to the diamond area where the summer festival was taking place and there was live bands playing which was excellent. The entertainment inside the abbey in the bar and disco was also excellent. I would highly recommend The Abbey Hotel and Donegal town for any occasion but for a hen party, it was brilliant. And Angela mc Gettigan was brilliant to deal with. Thanks again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back of the hotel have lovey views of the river and Donegal bay.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your recommendation of the Abbey Hotel. The Hen packages are very much enjoyed by all and we are delighted that you had such a good experience and enjoyed your time in Donegal.
We look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larne, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2014

This charming hotel is situated overlooking the Diamond area in the centre of Donegal Town. We arrived here with Canadian relatives to stay one night while showing them the sights of Donegal. While booking the room over the phone the receptionist was very friendly and helpful. This positive attitude continued when we checked in the following day. The rooms we were given were large and well-equipped with lots of storage space. The bathroom had a bath and an in-bath shower facility although my wife found the shower a bit slippery - perhaps supplying a non-slip bathmat as standard would help. There was an iron store in the corridor near our room for guests' use which contained an iron and ironing board - this seems a good idea to me rather than cluttering up the room!
Breakfast was very good with a range of cereals (including porridge) and fruit juices. I would have liked a better selection of fresh/tinned fruit as well rather than just grapefruit.
There was a range of freshly cooked hot items served by a pleasant waitress who gave large helpings.
The hotel also offers free wifi - an essential for the modern traveller. The hotel has little parking on-site, but they do give free parking at an extensive public carpark 100 metres from the hotel.
Overall this hotel is easy to recommend. It has a central location, the rooms are good, the staff are friendly, the food is very good and the prices are very reasonable. What's not to like!!

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel overlooking Donegal Bay - it may be quieter than one overloo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel. We are very happy that your group enjoyed your time in Donegal and that you would recommend the hotel to others. We hope that you will visit again.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knaresborough, England, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2014

this is a very welcoming hotel and right in the centre of a busy and fun filled town.The hotel is well designed and the bar and lounge area are excellent .good rooms and receptionists happy and helpful.breakfast service was fairly slapdash ,and we had to help ourselves to cutlery napkins etc. only negative.Live music in the bar of great quality most nights.
we will be back

Room Tip: higher room best as traffic noise and music could be invasive
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, August 5, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel . We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay and look forward to having you back again.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
donegal
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2014

My family met up to have a birthday meal for my younger sister. It was an excellent three course meal. I had a platter of cooked fish for the main course and it was excellent. The Management provided White and Red wine at no extra cost. the staff were attentive and the meal was served quickly. Great value in todays competitive environment. This hotel is one of the old reliables but is best avoided at disco weekends with drunks becoming a nuisance.

Room Tip: Avoid sleeping in the front as there is constant nightime traffic and drunken revellers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for your review of The Abbey Hotel and the Market House Restaurant. We are very happy that your family and younger sister had a nice birthday meal. I will pass on your kind comments to all the members of staff.
Kindest Regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newry, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

Very busy weekend in Donegal. Abbey Hotel packed. Nevertheless the staff were brilliant, friendly and helpful. The place was buzzing with a festival, wedding, hen night you name it - it was happening. A wonderful hotel somewhere you could go travel alone to and yet have a ball!

Stayed July 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oisin M, Guest Relations Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to leave your review of The Abbey Hotel. The festival weekend had lots going on and we are very happy that your group enjoyed you time in Donegal town.
Kindest regards,
The Abbey Hotel
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Located in The Heart of Donegal Town beside all local amenities and ideal base for touring Co.Donegal. Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities,Disabled Access, Market House Restaurant recommended on tripadvisor and part of the Restaurants Association of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.