We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Magherafelt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Nice place”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013

Had a few drinks here and was a good atmosphere. Great place for a night out with the locals. Seems to be quite a young crowd and had loads of Country and Western singers. Had Derek Ryan who was great too see! Good night

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam,
Thank you very much for your recent review. We are delighted you had a good night whilst out in here in The Abbey Hotel. We have live music every weekend and run select Country Weekends with all the Big bands. People travel from near and far to attend these. We hope you will get the opportunity to come back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    134
    121
    64
    34
    29
See reviews for
62
129
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (110)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2013

A group of us spent one evening at the Abbey in late August. The staff are exactly what you would expect from people in Donegal, charming and helpful.

We ate in the hotel restaurant. All the food was excellent and the waiting were friendly and efficient.

Our rooms were by the river. Lovely views and fresh air. Clean.

Reception staff are very efficient and accommodating. One of our party could not make it, and the bed was removed from the bill with no fuss.

Overall, a great stay and i will be back.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2013
Dear Sir

On behalf of us all here we sincerely thank you for taking the time to share the experience which you and your friends had here. Thank you for reference to our staff, food, bedrooms, etc. We pride ourselves in good customer service and attention to detail. We are delighted that everything was to your satisfaction, and look forward to your return visit to The Abbey Hotel. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

Stayed for two days in October 2013. Staff was excellent , beds comfortable, bar staff great and food was also very good. We were with a large group and they were able to meet all our needs. I would love to go back to Donegal Town and would stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for your recent review and thank you for all comments received, our team of staff are dedicated to ensuring our guests have a good time. We hope you will get the opportunity of returning to Donegal and staying here again with us. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limavady, Northern Ireland, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2013

the staff made us welcome when we arrived, the room was great overlooking the river,we had a great dinner ,the music was brilliant , the breakfast was good also ,no complaints ,thank you 10/10 it looks as if i did not write enough words to describe the abbey hotel what more can i say the bed was clean ,clean towels was clean , there was tea and coffee in the room

Room Tip: 10/10 pick the back room next river
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Margaret & William,
Thank you very much for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay here with us and that everything was to your satisfaction. Thank you for sharing your experience with other people. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Abbey Hotel in the future.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 2, 2013

we the above group were made very more than welcome by all the staff,One of our members said it was best hotel ever,food great spacious rooms for wheelchair users ,the use of the gym and swimming pool next door at the central hotel was very handy

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 6, 2013
Dear Margaret,
Thank you and St. Finlough’s Friends of the Disabled Group very much for choosing The Abbey Hotel for your break away. We are thrilled to know that you all had a good time here with us. We look forward to your return and getting to meet you all again.
Kind Regards to everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Londonderry, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2013

Stayed Tuesday to Friday with family, my wife and two young daughters. We had a family room on the third floor towards the rear of the property. The bedroom and ensuite were more than adequate and spacious. Above all, these were very clean and fresh on arrival. The staff were brilliant and friendly, making our stay really enjoyable over the Halloween period. The free WiFi access was an added bonus & reception in the room was good for accessing cartoons on the internet as there weren't many children's channels on the television. We dined in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed both the food and ambiance. Breakfast was a really good experience. The breakfast buffet was superb and had really set us up for the day. We'd highly recommend the Abbey Hotel as it is very central with free parking and has access to leisure facilities, which we made great use of.

Room Tip: Rooms at the rear are very quiet. Wedding going on downstairs and we didn't hear a thing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir.
Thank you very much for your recent review. It gives us great pleasure in hearing that you and your family enjoyed your experience here and that you recommend The Abbey Hotel to others. We thank you for same. We hope to get the opportunity of welcoming you all again in the future. Kind Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hingham, Massachusetts
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2013

The room was lovely with all necessary amenities...coffee / tea pot in room, good towels and comfortable beds. We stayed on a very busy Sat. Night with a huge disco party occurring on the street below us, so our sleep was limited. Stay in the back of the hotel if possible. Staff was wonderful and accommodating. This hotel is in the heart of city at the diamond with shops and restaurants,pubs a few steps away, plus a lively pub and restaurant in the hotel itself. Bus stop right out front door.Busy location but real experience the Irish heartbeat!

Room Tip: Ask for back section of hotel if you want to assure quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, November 14, 2013
Dear Sir/Madam.
Thank you for writing a review and sharing your experience. It gives others travelers a get knowledge when deciding on their location. We do hope that if you are in the area again you will choose to stay here again and we will allocate a room to the back of the hotel overlooking the river view. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Located in The Heart of Donegal Town beside all local amenities and ideal base for touring Co.Donegal. Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities,Disabled Access, Market House Restaurant recommended on tripadvisor and part of the Restaurants Association of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.