We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location and very friendly” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Midlands,UK
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Good location and very friendly”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Enjoyed our visit. Rooms huge! 3 beds in ours! All very clean and comfortable with lots of tea and coffee sachets. Our room was on the back of the hotel with no view but it was fine. Parking pass included which was great. Breakfast very busy due to coach tours and you need to be in either before or after them as waitresses are rushed off their feet. Food was very good and no one would leave hungry. Evening meal in bar was good as was the nightly music. Enjoyed our stay..central to the beautiful area of donegal . Would stay again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hello Lindsey
Thank you for your recent review.
We are delighted that you choose us as your preferred Hotel to stay and thank you most sincerely for your kind comments. We take good pride in our customer care, good food, attention to detail. We feel a great satisfaction in knowing you will return and stay with us again. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

383 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    135
    121
    64
    34
    29
See reviews for
63
129
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (111)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2013

Stayed overnight on way back to Belfast ferry terminal. Checked out the sister Central hotel first, rooms terrible. The rooms at the Abbey were nicer, but the hotel is in need of updating. It seems to survive on the Irish coach tours, of which there seemed to be a lot.
On the plus side, the downstairs areas were very nice, particularly the restaurant, and the food was very good.
Now for the negatives.
Firstly, without doubt, the most uncomfortable bed I have ever experienced anywhere in the world. To make things even worse, I woke up with my arms covered in insect bites.
Secondly, we ordered from the a la carte menu, the Irish stew is to be recommended, but the starter we shared was supposed to be local Killybegs mussels in a cream sauce. When the plate arrived, it contained New Zealand green lip mussels on the half shell. The young waitress was asked to refer the matter to the chef for an explanation. She disappeared, never to be seen again!
After finishing the meal, we sat whilst finishing our wine. We do not normally eat desserts, but another waitress invited us to sample the dessert buffet, (which had been on display, unrefrigerated for several hours), by saying, "please feel free to help yourself to the dessert buffet". We tried a couple, and left each one unbeaten, only to find on receipt of the bill that we had been charged 14 euros for them. Our insistence that the amount was removed was met with resistance from the management, but we insisted and she begrudgingly did so. Note to management. Let people order from the menu, but if you insist on the buffet folly, show the price on the table!!
If this is Donegal Town's best hotel, stay somewhere else!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, October 14, 2013
Dear Kevin,
Thank you for your recent review and comments in relation to our restaurant and food. I am glad you enjoyed the Irish Stew. I have noted your other comments and I sincerely apologize for any inconvenience cased. I will be discussing them with each department. Once again please expect my apologies in relation to same.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have recently returned from a stay at the Abbey Hotel which was organised by Caladonian Travel. The hotel was absolutely fine. The food was excellent and the staff were very friendly. We stayed in a room at the back on the second floor and my only complaint was that we could not open our window at night due to the noise of the air conditioning unit.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Tommy
Thank you for your recent review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and appreciate you taking the time to make your review. I am very sorry that you heard noise from the air conditioning unit. We do hope that this will not deter you from staying with us in the future.
Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Whitby, Canada
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

While visiting family in Ireland, we visited this hotel for 2 days. What a fantastic area. As with all of Ireland it is beautiful! The hotel is situated on the main street and there is all kinds of great little shops and restaurants.
We stayed from July 25-27th. The room is quite large and although clean is in need of new carpeting. The carpets were very stained and after a day of walking in shoes it would be nice to be able to remove when we returned to the room. Another suggestion is that the door in the room has no peek hole, you have no idea who is at the door if someone knocks. Finally, the towels are like sandpaper, could be hard water in this area or lack of fabric softner. Otherwise, the stay was made very enjoyable by the fantastic staff, everyone was extremely friendly and helpful, especially when it came to figuring out the euro. Other than one meal we ate at the hotel. The food was so, so good! I had the beef and Guiness dish, twice-it was outstanding. Others in our group had a variety of fish, chicken and salad and raved at how good it was. Breakfast was included in our package and was a nice buffet style that the staff served.
Parking was also included which helped since there is not a lot of parking and a rate does apply.It is a busy hotel and it is understandable with the wonderful staff. I would have rated it a 5 if not for the carpet/towels. Very easy to fix this and make this hotel a perfect 5.

Room Tip: this is a very busy hotel, if you want quiet ask for a room at the back of the hotel. There was a bi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Dear Debbie,
Thank you for your recent review. I have noted down all your comments and will discuss same with General Manager. We are delighted that you enjoyed your meals and I will pass on your kind comments to all staff. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Abbey Hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2013

We had a great time at The Abbey Hotel. Staff were very friendly, food was great and the entertainment on each evening including Stephen Dohertys country disco was excellent. Great location, central to the town, nice view of the river.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Hi Jenny,

Many thanks for your recent review. We are delighted that your enjoyed our country music weekend. I will pass on your comments to Stephen also and I do hope you will return to more events here with us. Kind Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Redding, Connecticut
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

I had my Wedding Reception here in 2005 & everyone in America is still talking about the wonderful experience they had,it was first class all the way & Patricia did an outstanding job to make my day a happy one.I always pop into the Abbey Hotel when I am in Ireland,was there recently for Sunday Lunch & the selection of food was outstanding,my family & I had a wonderful time reconnecting & can't wait to return soon.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi Amanda,
Thank you very much for your comments, we are delighted that your returned to the Hotel with your family for lunch. I will pass on your kind wishes to Patricia, please do call again when you are back. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thurso, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
44 helpful votes 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here during the July Country Music Weekend and have to say we thouroughly enjoyed it from start to finish. The entertainment for the weekend was first class and really well organised. The staff were very helpfull and friendly. Hotel room was excellent, clean and well furnished. The food was excellent too, we ate in the function room twice as part of the weekend package, 3 course meals with plenty to choose from, also ate in the bar where again it was first class. The whole weekend was great fun and hope to go again along with some friends

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angela21014, Manager at The Abbey Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Dear Sir,
Thank you very much for writing your recent review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the Country Music Weekend. It gives us great pleasure in knowing the experience which people had here. We look forward to seeing you again in the future with your friends. Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Located in The Heart of Donegal Town beside all local amenities and ideal base for touring Co.Donegal. Entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities,Disabled Access, Market House Restaurant recommended on tripadvisor and part of the Restaurants Association of Ireland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Tingo, Orbitz, Agoda, Travelocity, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.