We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All good” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Abbey Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Abbey Hotel to your Saves list
The Abbey Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Accra
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“All good”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 7, 2012 via mobile

I walked in with no booking. Got a room for €60. It was a good room too. Breakfast was good. Wifi on ground floor only though. I as on third floor and couldn't hear the live music in the bar so that will suit those needing an early sleep. The staff let me park my motorbike in the hotel yard which was helpful.

Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

434 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    150
    146
    70
    37
    31
See reviews for
67
156
16
18
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Peachtree City, Georgia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2012

Great location right in the centre of town. The room was clean and comfortable. We had a lovely view over looking the bay. Has a great atmosphere! Great Irish music every night and good food.Irish breakfast every morning. Lots of lovely shops around. Buses stop right outside if you want to go away for the day.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2012

The room was clean. The check-in receptionist was not the most cordial. The breakfast was okay. Great location, the bus stops directly in front of the building. We did make a reservation over the Internet just the day before so maybe this was the reason for the high cost. Before we left the States I had checked this hotel out and the rates were much lower.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

This hotel had a great location and have spent money on the entrance and bar but OH Boy do they need to spend it on the bedrooms !!! Old fashioned bedding, old Mis matching furniture it was like staying in an antiques shop !! The room was clean but extremely disappointing plus at 3pm it still wasn't ready for checking in !! Wouldn't stay here again but food good n bar atmosphere was good .

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derry, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2012

We arrived on tuesday and stay to friday.
We where supposed to stat at the centiral hotel next door. When we got there the room was not suitable due to disability issues . The staff sent us up to the Abbey hotel and although the hotel was full the Front of house manager moved guets about and put us into a suite. Fantastic or what.
The hotel is very clean and the staff are very polite .

Room Tip: At night there is a power unit that goes on all night.......
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2012

On a recent visit to Donegal Town I stayed in the Abbey Hotel and I had wonderful meals in the Market House Restaurant in very comfortable surroundings. The range of dishes on the menu was magnificient and the quality of food was superb. The staff were attentative, efficient and very pleasant. Quality and service are obviously a top priority for this hotel and I just had to share my experience ...........................PLJ.

Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Donegal Ireland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2012

We stayed on Sat 7th July 2012 as part of a hen party. I worked directly with Angela Mc Gettigan who organised everything. She was really friendly nd helpfull and full of great ideas on what to do and also how to make our trip more memorable for "The Hen Michelle". It was great value and the dinner and breakfast were great. The staff were more then helpfull nothing was too much bother for them, they were both friendly and professional. There was a lot going on in the hotel, dicsos upstairs and downstairs and a live band all on the one night we were spoilt for choice. For such alot going on in the hotel in the rooms and corridors there wasn't any noise. We used triple rooms which were large rooms with loads of space, the only very small coplaint was that there was only one plug in the room and with 3 girls getting ready for a night out it was a little fustrating, but i would recommand this hotel to any hen/stag party and i will definitely be staying again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Abbey Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Abbey Hotel

Address: The Diamond, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Abbey Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally Located in The Heart of Donegal Town beside all local amenities and ideal base for touring Co. Donegal. The Abbey Hotel is located near beautiful coastal drives and signature discovery points of the Wild Atlantic Way. Nightly entertainment in The Bar, Free Car Parking, Complimantery Leisure Facilities, Disabled Access. The award winning Market House Restaurant has 5 Star recommendations on TripAdvisor and nominated for many award in the 2015 Restaurants Association of Ireland Awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Abbey Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Abbey Hotel Donegal Town
Abbey Hotel Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Abbey Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.