We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful B&B” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Rhu-Gorse

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Donegal Town
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rhu-Gorse
Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #12 of 37 Donegal Town B&B and Inns
baltimore
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“wonderful B&B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2007

This bed and breakfast is well worth the extra drive out from Donegal. In a beautiful setting with a fabulous view of Lough Eske, you will not be disappointed.
The owner is very pleasant and helpful, please don't be concerned by reading the one review from June 2007 that said otherwise. We found her to be extremely sweet and thoughtful.
I think that it is important to know that when you book a B&B in Europe it is not considered proper to stay during the day. If you want that you should stay in a hotel. To blame the B&B for not being happy about people staying( especially a young girl and her boyfriend) during the day only shows a lack of knowledge from the visitor, not unprofessional behavior from the owner.

This a great location from which to explore Donegal, and always a warm home coming at the end of the day and a great breakfast in the morning. What more could you ask.

  • Liked — the views and the hospitality
  • Disliked — N/A
  • Stayed October 2007, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

39 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    34
    4
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
6
18
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2007

If you are looking for a quiet place with beatiful views, with no noices, and far away from the city (9km), this is your place in Donegal. We have booked the Rhu-Gorse because we have seen good references and after our visit we totally agree with them. Rhu Gorse is located just in front of the Lough Eske you can see it from the windows. Gráinne, is the owner, and she is very nice, she prepares one of the best Irish breakfast we have tasted. We will totally recomend you stay at the Rhu-Gorse.

  • Liked — The room and the views
  • Disliked — How to arrive.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moss Beach, California
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2007

Rhu Gorse is located on a wooded slope about 400 feet above Lough Eske, about 10 miles from the town of Donegal. It’s a modern house in a rural setting, with lovely views of the lake. Extraordinarily quiet. We took all three rooms. The rooms are large and clean, the beds are a bit too firm for my taste, and the bathrooms are large and modern with beautiful tile. One room has a shower/bath combo, another has a shower “ensuite,” and the last has a bathroom with shower just outside the door. When we arrived proprietor Graine (pronounced Grahn-ya) McGettigan provided tea and cookies, pound cake, and homemade scones. The B&B is great for animal lovers, as there are 3 horses, 3 cats and Mac the Red Setter. Being in the country, the midges can be a problem outdoors, and beware of ticks if you wander through the grass in the area.

Though appearing somewhat nervous, Graine was very helpful in her recommendations for sightseeing and for restaurants and pubs. However, we did have an unpleasant experience on our second day, when we mentioned at breakfast that we’d be going out for the day, but our daughter and her boyfriend would be staying home (they were tired of driving and needed a day of rest). Graine’s reaction was inappropriate and unexpected – she said, “Oh, I don’t like that. I’m going out and I don’t like anyone staying here when I’m away.” My daughter felt pressured to leave, but really didn’t want to accompany us on another 3 or 4 hour excursion on small, winding roads. I insisted she remain at Rhu Gorse. Graine stayed until my daughter and her boyfriend announced they were going for a walk, at which point Graine said she’d be going out and would be back in an hour and a half. Granted that this B&B is a family home, but if the proprietor is understaffed or distrustful of the guests, then he or she should not be in business. And if the guest is required to leave during the day, that should be made plain at the time of booking, and a discount should be provided for the hours spent away from the B&B. It was altogether unprofessional and ruined the stay for me, despite it’s high recommendations by Trip Advisor and Georgina Campbell’s Ireland guide.

Stayed June 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts, USA
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2007

If you go to Donegal stay at the Rhu Gorse. It is out in the countryside by Lough Eske. Beautiful setting and your hostess will make you feel very special. The views of the lake and mountains are wonderful. The walking trails are great. The City of Donegal was very interesting. We had a great time. You can go west from there and drive the coastline and it is awesome.

Roy and Judy Fitzsimmons

Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2006

My husband and I stayed at Rhu-Gorse for two nights end of september 2006.

It is an extraordinary B&B - well hidden, but absolutly worth finding it !

The panoramic views outside the big window-front of our room was breathtaking : Loch Eske and the encircling mountains !!

The accommodation was superb :
our room was very clean and compfortable , the atmosphere peaceful and calm.

We enjoyed a delicious breakfast overlooking the Loch Eske.

For us, it wa a wonderful stay and we appreciated an excellent hospitality !

  • Liked — panoramic views - clean and compfortable accommodation
  • Disliked — -
  • Tips/Secrets — -
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2006

What a wonderful time we had in Donegal! Rhu Gorse, high in the woods overlooking Loch Eske was one of our favorite places in Ireland. Grainne McGettigan, our host was wonderful. Arriving a bit too early, we were warmly welcomed and put in the sitting room overlooking the lake with a tray of tea, brown bread, butter and jam.
Our host suggested a visit to Slieve League, probably the least well know and most beautiful scenery in Ireland. Our return after supper was greeted with glasses of wine and breakfast was a friendly round table of guests from Europe. There was nothing more that could have been done for us in this beautiful place. Do check out their website.

Stayed September 2006
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Methuen, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2005

My wife and I stayed at Rhu-Gorse in the first week of October 2005. Previous rave reviews are not at all exaggerations. It is a quiet, spotless, and elegant house located in an extraordinary setting. We appreciated a warm welcome and enjoyed a wonderful breakfast and conversation. Without question, it is one of the best B&Bs that we have experienced.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Rhu-Gorse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rhu-Gorse

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Location: Ireland > Province of Ulster > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Donegal Town

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Rhu-Gorse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

Bookmark for later
Save Saved
You added Rhu-Gorse to your Saves list