We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Well worth the visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Harvey's Point

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Harvey's Point to your Saves list
Harvey's Point
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
💚 5 Days in Donegal Package 💚
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Tyrone
1 review
“Well worth the visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2010

As we were unable to book twin room we were given a double bed and bed settee which worked out fine. The room was big enough to let each one have "their own space". I liked the idea of being in the courtyard where you had your own front door outside. If I had any down sides it would be that the room was quite dark and may have needed some refurbishment but these are only minor details. The staff really knew their job and made us feel very welcome. The food was the highlight of our visit! Very comfortable dining area, beautiful view and fabulous food very well presented. Stay for one night only but very relaxing and came away with a feel good factor!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,593 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,329
    184
    47
    22
    11
See reviews for
393
1,538
36
69
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (769)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin, Ireland
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

Emjoyed our recent staty with great staff - rthanks to Sean and Teresa - but only one fault - rooms lack either sufficient fresh air ventilation or air conditionning and sleep was difficult in the ensuing heat. Restaurant is first class for both breakfast and evening meals and great value all round. The absence of small children is to be welcommed by some!! Thoroughly recommended and will return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, General Manager at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
On behalf of Sean, Teresa and the entire Harvey's Point team, thank you for your kind comments about our hotel and we are delighted you enjoyed the Harvey's Point Experience. Your point in relation to the lack of air conditioning is fair. Our Irish weather only rarely blesses us with a heatwave and for those occasions, we have installed high quality fans in each bedroom. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gweedore, Ireland
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

I have stayed in hotels all over the world but this has to be the worst 4* star experience ever!
Whilst the rooms were to a good level and the setting delightfull our experience was ruined by the following points -

No spa / leisure facilities - I asked about these at reception, but the response was a flat "No"

When we went to the bar there was no space for residents as there was a very loud concert going on. We couldn't get a drink before our meal as the staff were rushed off their feet.
We eventually went through to the restaurant for our meal. We ordered drinks off a very somber & unfriendly waiter. We don't know his name as he didn't introduce himself. He was looked Asian in appearence. I also felt that his grasp of English was very poor as we had to repeat our order a number of times. Perhaps his mood was down to the noise coming from the bar. It was like being at a concert, except louder...not what you expect from a 4* dining experience!
Whilst the food was very good we found that the service wasn't that good & the noise coming from the bar soured our overall experience.
We had heard about the hotel from friends but it didn't match upto the experience we had expected.
Whilst the hotel promised so much it failed to deliver interms of service & tranquility.
We will NOT be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jollygirl66, Owner at Harvey's Point, responded to this review, August 16, 2010
Harvey’s Point is renowned for high standards of customer care in a peaceful and tranquil setting. However, I accept your comments in relation to your experience in our hotel on Sunday 8th August. In response to several requests for entertainment in the lounge, we hosted an evening of music and song, which was enjoyed by many. However, it is fair to say that the noise level was too high and the event attracted such a large number of people that this may have had an impact on service levels. Please be assured that this was a ‘once off’ event and we have learned from the experience. We hope you will accept our apology and thank you for your valuable feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coleraine, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

What a lovely experience. From the warm welcome to the friendly goodbye four days later. Our room was so large and luxurius ( there was even a doorbell as you could easily not hear a kock!) We were a bit disappointed not to have a view of the lake or the mountains, we overlooked the gardens and the back of the courtyard bungalows, however we were able to sit at the windows overlooking the lake at several meal times.The size, comfort and cleanliness of our twin suite was excellent and the complimentary toiletries were replaced daily. We especialy liked the fresh jug of milk(placed in the large well stocked minibar/fridge) , apple and pear and little cookies in a jar that were replenished daily. There was no noise from neighbours and we slept soundly - lovely soft comfortable pillows! The breakfast was very good and we were very impressed by the quick delivery of tea/coffee and toast to our table whilst we helped ourselves to the ample buffet. Chris who made the pancakes in front of you was such a friendly lad we were very inmpressed by his manner, in fact all the waiters/waitresses were friendly and efficient. Although the service in the bar was quite slow, on a couple of occasions my husband had to go up and request a menu (it wasn't busy either), but dining at Harveys Point is a very pleasurable experience especially the gourmet dinner. We so enjoyed our stay we tried to book a fourth night but they were fully booked (not surprisingly!) When we were leaving we were wished a safe journey home and offered complimentary bottles of water for the trip. Its all these thoughtful touches that go to make a stay at Harveys Point an exceptional and pleasurable experience.We can't wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2010

My husband has been ill for over a year and Harvey's Point was the first break away. The staff were excellent in helping with wheel chair assistance and helped make our stay memorable. I would recommend Harvey's Point strongly.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

We had a wonderful 3 days. Everything about Harvey's Point is amazing. The staff, food, ambience are all excellent. We especially liked Sean who was very friendly and showed us where everything was.
The room was so comfortable with everything you needed at your disposal.
This was my 3rd visit and I will be back next year.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2010

Travelled from Canada & were very much looking forward to this stop & had booked this stay long in advance. We assumed that booking early we would have a lake view room but were disappointed that the room faced the parking lot, although the mountains were nice. Not sure how they allocate rooms, but this did detract from our positive impression. That being said, it is a beautiful hotel & the staff are friendly & professional. The attention to detail is amazing & the location is stunning. The food was fantasic & the service excellent; which makes me wonder why I felt disappointed with our stay here & I guess it goes back to our initial disappointment with the parking lot view; the old saying of first impressions being lasting impressions.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Harvey's Point? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Harvey's Point

Address: Lough Eske, Donegal Town, Ireland
Phone Number:
Location: Ireland > County Donegal > Donegal Town
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Donegal Town
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Harvey's Point 4*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
There is an air of Romance at Harvey's Point, set in the mystical, magical shadow of the Blue Stack Mountains on the shores of Lough Eske. Owned and managed by the Swiss Family Gysling since it opened in 1989, Harvey's Point has developed into the leading destination hotel of the northwest, specialising in top class accommodation, exquisite cuisine and genuine Irish hospitality. Harvey's Point is the recipient of the prestigious AA Hotel of the Year award 2007 / 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotel.de, Priceline, Odigeo and HostelBookers so you can book your Harvey's Point reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Harvey`s Point Hotel Donegal Town
Harveys Point Hotel Donegal
Harveys Point Donegal

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Harvey's Point, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.